Easy Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I haven't tasted this yet but gave it 5 stars based on the ease of making. I made mine for a savory dish so i did add the salt and the sugar. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and half teaspoon of basil just to give it more flavor. I made a chicken pot pie and it smells heavenly. Will edit once I taste my dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have used a similar recipe for years. My Mom and I went to a pie class and learned it. She never made pies because crust was difficult. She only uses this recipe now. I chill the oil first and then mix in the milk before I add to dry ingredients in pie pan. For a double crust use 2 cups flour, 2 t. sugar and 1 t. salt. Increase oil to 2/3 cup and cold mile to 4T. Save 1/3 cup of crust to crumble on top. Fill with your favorite filling and top with crumbs. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes and reduce to 350 for 30 - 40 more minutes. I always get raves for my pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe is very easy, and I like the one-dish simplicity. However, I reduced the salt by half and it still tasted salty to me. I used it for a quiche, and don't recommend it for this purpose. It didn't hold up well to twice-baking. I may try to revise it for once-baking purposes, like pudding pies. *Blend very well*, which may prevent the massive crumbling problem I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Definitely not for deserts but was AMAZING for a quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I just made this crust for a pumpkin pie and it worked beautifully. After what others said, I cut the salt to one-half tsp. and increased the sugar to 1 tablespoon. I pressed it into a glass pie dish, filled the dish with my pumpkin mixture, and baked it for 50 minutes. The pie was awesome, so this crust also works well for fillings that call for an unbaked pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
LOVE this crust! So amazingly simple. I've used this a couple times for quiche while trying to keep up with all my fresh garden veggies. I agree that the salt and sugar should be adjusted. I made it per the recipe the first time, and both the salt and sugar were too noticeable. I reduced both the next time by half, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
this was so, so easy to do and i paired it with a lemon meringue pie recipe. the taste was fantastic too. the only problem was that it was too crumbly because the crust started to fall off in bits and pieces after it had been baked with the meringue... maybe i won't bake it so long (for the first round) in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I found this recipe strange at first due to the fact that it didn't require any butter, but I guess that's a good thing :_) I also found it easier to mix it all together before putting it in the pie pan. We popped it in the oven for 15 and it came out perfect for our homemade keesh...would use less salt though for a dessert recipe and add more sugar. This was fast and easy, love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I used Whole Wheat flour just for health reasons and it turned out great! I even used my mixer to get this made up in a hurry. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Easy & delicious. However, it's a little shy of filling a normal pie plate. I'd use 2 c. flour and adjust the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Don't try rolling this out to use as a pie top crust. Doesn't hold up to rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States