Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I absolutely love pepper steak but lost my faithful recipe somewhere in the move. I have tried others before this, but this one beat them for flavor by far and came closest to my original recipe! I used leftover bbq'd steaks, cut very thin and into bite size pieces. I used 2 c. water with two packs beef bouillon powder instead of the swansons brand and I added freshly minced garlic cloves. After reading other reviews I tasted the broth and kept adding soy sauce until it had the flavor i was seeking. All in all, i used about 4 tbsp low sodium soy sauce. I used 2 fresh green peppers and 1 red pepper and 1 large onion, all thinly sliced and bite size pieces. Until i find my Grandmother's original recipe, this will definitely be the recipe I use! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was really quick and easy, and it tasted great. My whole family can't wait for me to make it again. The only thing I changed was using real garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very easy,very good. I also chose to simmer a semi-tough piece of meat in the broth for a little bit to tenderize it some I also found it a bit lacking so I added some teriyaki sauce to it. All in all very well received. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Family loved it, I'm blaming my ehhhhh factor on pregnancy. I used garlic cloves instead of powder, fresh peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawson247

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Couldn't have been easier! One two three... And it was my first attempt. I seasoned the meat while cooking and then again when I added the veggies with salt and pepper. Put garlic powder in the mix with a table spoon of minced garlic. Was awesome. Even my kids raved about it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Pretty tasty, left overs "jelly-like"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I use this recipe every time. I ususally use leftover steak and it is so easy & quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
very good. i used a little less than the recipe calls for broth, i added stewed tomatoes, and to the cornstarch mix i added a little bit of ground ginger and much more soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GratefulLed

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did as others instructed and cooked the steak with 2 tbls of minced garlic and sprinkled black pepper on the steak added the peppers when the steak was nearly done so that they wouldnt burn. I also doubled the soy sauce and garlic powder. I am not a chinese food person but this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetroitRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I did make several changes. I did not use cornstarch because I prefer to brown the steak in a little flour and olive oil. Therefore, the cornstarch is not needed. I also did not use soy sauce because I season the meat (prior to browning) with garlic powder, onion powder, and seasoned salt. I used fresh onions, garlic, and red, green, and yellow peppers. Last, I did not use white rice. I used brown rice with sauteed, diced multi-colored peppers, onions, and garlic. Fabulous. My family REALLY enjoyed this! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLHODGES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Markham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States