Easy Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I have been making this for years, with just a couple of variations from the posted recipe. I brown my steak, then add the peppers & onions with a cup of water or broth, cover the skillet and simmer for 30 -60 minutes (depending on how crisp you want your veggies.) This infuses the pepper & onion flavor into the steak. Then, I add an additional cup of liquid (more if you like lots of sauce) with the cornstarch, 1 teaspoon minced or crushed garlic, and 3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce. I serve this with a blend of wild rice and white for a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
added more corn starch for a thicker sauce, and some added seasoning, but overall was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This came out really good! I ended up adding 2 more tbsp of soy and a little more pepper as we love our food with a lot of kick..I also added broccoli! Yum!! Making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Aviano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great recepie! Added a tbsp extra soy sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very easy & tastes good! I seasoned to taste with salt, pepper, more garlic and soy sauce as it was a little bland for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I made this as part of an All Star project for July using Bird's Eye Recipe Ready veggies. I changed up the sauce a bit and added a bit of Sriachi chili sauce because they flavor is so lovely and added a bit of mirin and hoisin sauce to the soy sauce. I didn't use rice, but Udon noodles. It was pretty good and I'd do this for dinner again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARTEMIS2854

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very good no lumps in gravy and husband loved it. He went back for seconds, only will add more onions next time and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I just made this for dinner tonight. It came together really quickly and we all thought it was quite tasty! I did find it a little salty but I'm still not sure why since I used lower sodium soy sauce and I only used the 1TB called for, unlike many other reviewers who added even more. The only changes I made was to (1) use real garlic (finely minced) in place of the powder and (2) sprinkle a dash of ground ginger in with the cornstarch mixture. I felt the sauce came out somewhat thick for my liking so next time I'd probably use a little less cornstarch. Overall, a great and easy recipe that I will definitely be adding to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
this is very good,I did do a few minor changes, first,I bought a beef bottom sliced steaks pounded them out to about half an inch or 3/4 inch.I slightly seasoned with fresh garlic,salt and pepper then I put the meat in cornstarch and rolled them around,cooked the meat.while the meat is cooking,I didnt have beef stock so I used beef boullion cubes with hot water added fresh minced garlic,lots of blk pepper a dash of salt(make sure the boullion mixture is not too salty,u can dilute if it is with more hot water or delete the salt)and red pepper flakes,shoyu (soy sauce) and maggi (yellow bottle,look in the mexican aisle or next to the steak sauces or worcestershire).Now back to the meat,once the meat is slightly still red in the middle I added sliced mnushrooms,sliced onions and sliced red and green bell peppers cook till meat is done to your liking then add the boullion mixture simmer,stirring often cover and simmer till thicken (meat is so tender if u have enough liquid and simnmer to soften).served over white rice and a salad its very good.I had leftovers for brunch with an over medium egg on top,this was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States