Easy Peasy Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe lacks flavor. Too much water as other people have suggested. It needs cheese throughout the rice and I like peas so the amount is fine with me. I also used frozen peas which gives it better flavor and color. It also needs black pepper and even a little more salt. I know there is a lot of sodium in chicken broth but this is very bland. I won't be making it again unless I add other seasonings. Sorry but it wasn't a winner with me. Glad I only made half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Great start to a delicious recipe.....cooked the rice in chicken broth (about 5 cups) instead of water. Didn't have peas so put chopped celery and onions in from the start. When the rice was nearly cooked I put it in the casserole dish and stirred in the cheese. Topped it with dry bread crumbs and baked for 30 minutes. Very tasty and only 6 ingredients! Also very budget friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This was wonderful....I changed a tiny bit and used velveeta cheese with 1/4 cup milk and used a bag of frozen veggies, it was great! The buttery crackers on the top was a great idea...Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I only give it 4 stars because of the changes I made. At the advice of the other reviewers, I omitted the water and cooked the rice in just the broth. Cut the peas to (1) can and mixed the cheese into the rice before baking. I also added (1) t. salt and 1/2 t. pepper. My wife who usually turns her nose up at rice loved it! It was good the next day too. Thanks Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rookiecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe was not worth the effort. It was essentially rice cooked in broth with some peas thrown in. I agree with all the previous reviewers when they suggest that you should just cook the rice in the broth-skip the water. We eat alot of rice and I use a rice cooker and I found this recipe more work than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe will be good by making the following changes: eliminate all the water; just cook the rice in the broth. Cut amount of peas in half; after rice is cooked mix cheese in throughout. Sprinkle even more cheese on top with cracker crumbs. Very easy to make, tastes good, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
We cut back a little bit on the water, and it came out great. My three year old who doesnt even like rice asks for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I agree with the last reviewer--what is with all that water?? If I bother to make this again, I would completely eliminate the water and cook the rice in the chicken broth. Also, there are far to many peas, I would rather a pea and carrot mixture in this. The cheese needs to be spread through the dish, not just on top. And I think I would drizzle some melted butter over the crushed crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This recipe sucks and needs some help! 6 cups of water!!! WHAT, well dont use that much unless you want your rice floating. The cheese needs to be inside as well as on top, and 1 can of peas is plenty! Just forget the 6 cups of water and make the rice like you normally would. Just dont follow this recipe or you will be disappointed with the outcome like I was, what a waste of all my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
THE RECIPE IS OKAY...IT JUST SEEMS TO BE MISSING SOMETHING. ALSO, IT WOULDN'T BE BAD IF THE CHEESE WAS SPRINKLED THROUGHOUT INSTEAD OF JUST THE TOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States