Easy Peach Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My grandmother was born and raised in the South, so though I grew up in the North, I grew up on peach cobbler and peach crisp. This recipe is good but perhapes mis-named. The recipe results in something more like a cobbler than a crisp. If you want something more like a COBBLER this recipe is GREAT. But if you are looking for a crisp I have the following suggestions. The first time I made the recipe I followed it exactly. The second time I made it I adjusted it. When I made it the second time I doubled the amount of peaches, and made only half of the topping. (The recipe makes a lot more topping than is needed.) I also changed the topping a little bit. 1. I added a cup of oats. 2. I doubled the cinnamon. 3. I used only 1 1/2 cubes of butter instead of 2 cubes. 4. Instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar I put in 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. 5. I also drizzled honey on top of the crumb topping before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Took this to a potluck. It was a hit! Used fresh peaches with skin on . Added a bit of brown sugar and cinnamon to the peach slices and a few dashes of nutmeg to the crumble mixture. Thanks for a great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
YUM! Did modify this a bit - I only made 1/2 recipe since I was low on peaches. Added 1/2 cup of oatmeal and 1/2 cup brown sugar to the topping. This was SO good. Am making it for the 2nd time this week right now! I used fresh peaches (with skins) the first time, but this time I'm using canned so we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
You didn't make it right. It calls for a big can of peaches and a cup of butter(2 sticks), not a pound(thats four sticks).I actually said when I submitted this recipe to add one to two sticks depending on how much people like.I have been making this for years and it comes out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
this was a great base recipe! i modified the heck out of it! i added lots more cinn, cut back on a bit of white sugar, and used brown. i also baked mine much longer, and used fresh peaches! i've made this twice in the last handful of days... people LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This was excellent! I used 2 large fresh, firm peaches, halved the recipe, added 1/4 cup sugar and 2 tbs butter to the peaches to make more of a pie filling consistency. I cooked it in a loaf pan. It was still yummy crispy even though some peach liquid boiled up over the top of the toping. Really really good stuff here!!! I have also used apples and canned cherry pie filling with this and it has all been very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Wow! This is incrediable! I had a craving for peach cobbler, but I had everything except milk. I search for a recipe that did not list milk as an ingredient (didn't think that was possible) and I found this one! I must admit I was doubtful this would work, but boy was I wrong! I followed the directions as listed except I put a little sugar and cinnamon on top. I would not recommend that because it came out too sweet - but it was still edible. I can't wait to make this for the Hoildays! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
this was very good. It really is easy to make. I did use two cans of peaches, which is what you need to cover the bottom. I've made before, but peaches were in "season". Try this you will LOVE it. I did only use 1 cup of sugar...as I didn't want to be too sweet. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My husband needed a recipe for his company bake-off, and I suggested this because it is simple and good. We won the bake-off with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is a very yummy dessert. I made it for my son's birthday party for something different and everyone loved it. The topping is the best. Very easy to make also! I will make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States