Easy Peach Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've made this twice and will do a third for Thanksgiving. Like others, I thought it resulted in too much crust and too few peaches. The first time, I put it in an 8x8 and thought the peaches were still too thin. I thought there was way too much crust with 1/2 the topping ingredients. The second time, I doubled the peaches and at first put them in a 9x13 but thought they were still spread too thin so I went back to the 8x8 using 2 29oz cans. 2 cans in an 8x8 seems about right now. I kept the 1/2 topping amounts but changed to 3/4 whole wheat flour plus 1/4 rolled oats and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Because of the increase in peaches and smaller baking dish, I increased the baking time to 55 minutes. This version has good reviews from my spouse, daughter and grand-kids. I'll be going with these mods for Thanksgiving, but will probably tweak later versions with apricots and/or a few sour cherries as well as playing with the crust some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Page

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this with frozen peaches from this summer. I doubled the cinnamon and used 1 cup flour and 1 cup oats, and 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Looks and smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This came out quite nicely! I absolutely agree that this is a crisp rather than a cobbler. I may have added too much butter, or used the wrong butter (since Country Crock really isn't butter), because my crumbly mixture turned into a dough very quickly, and almost impossible to backpedal to correct. (BTW -- dough was yummy). In any case, good, simple recipe, with no milk (which is great!). I added a 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg; next time I'll try more. I will also use fresh peaches if I can. Thanks for a great recipe---it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe was fast & delicious! Only used half the topping,added more cinnamon,also added some ground cloves and poured a couple of teaspoons of maple syrup on top...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Super easy and really good. A definite keeper. Great for when you need something homemade, but don't have a lot of time. Your guests will be impressed that you had time to "bake all day". I made the recipe as is, and really enjoyed it. I persoanlly like a little more peaches though. The next time I made it with an additional small can of peaches. I also increased the flour by about a 1/4 cup, decreased the sugar by a 1/4, and doubled the amount of cinnamon. It turned out great. I have also substituted the peaches with apple pie filling. Great with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
this was delicious. I had fresh peaches that needed used, in my oppinion, fresh is the only way to go! i did take some of the suggestions by other reviewers like adding the oats but i made it for my family and he took some to work in his lunch the next day, he then came home to tell me i had to make another one just for his coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
IT was delicious! With vanilla ice cream! I used fresh peaches (skin on), and sprinkled nutmeg and walnuts on crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was incredible! I did modify it just a bit as I used fresh peaches (about 6) and it made 2 8 1/2 inch pies. I also used margarine and separated it and used 1/4 cup near the last 10 minutes of cooking to drizzle over the crisp. I then topped it with 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar. Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty
Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Used 6 fresh ripe peaches instead of canned. This recipe was great. My 10 year old daughter made it for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States