Easy Peach Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yummy!! I had some peaches that were getting really over ripe and so here's what I did: I used 14-16 cups sliced & pitted fresh peaches. Mix into peaches: 1/4c. Water; 1 Tsp. Almond Extract; 1 TBS. Lemon Juice; 3/4c. Dried Cranberries; 3/4c. White Sugar; 1/4c. Dark Brown Sugar; 1 TBS. Corn Starch; 3/4c. Slivered Almonds. To taste: Cinnamon; Cloves; Nutmeg; Ginger. Pour into bottom of sprayed 9x13 pan. Topping: Boxed Yellow Cake Mix; Sprinkle of Cinnamon; 1 stick frozen margarine that was shredded into dry cake mix and cut through using a pastry cutter. Mixed into topping an additional 1/4c. Slivered Almonds; sprinkled over top of peaches. Baked at 350 for 1 Hour 10 Min. Scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I added walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I mad it just as written. Everyone loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great go to recipe. I followed the review suggestions. The grating of the butter into the cake mix made a huge difference. I substituted pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon for more flavor. I also used turbanado brown sugar instead of the softer brown sugar. My husband can't stop eating it, and I received rave reviews from my father and father-in-law. My daughter will probably use a gluten free cake mix, so it is a great dessert recipe for all diets. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Been making this recipe for many years...call it slop cake! It is always well received. I add almond flavoring with peaches, pears or cherries. So good and uses less sugar. Brown sugar is best with the peaches,pears and apples with cinnamon sugar on top there is no need for cool whip or ice cream if served hot. Frozen or canned apples, blueberries, strawberries even mixed together even pineapple with pears or peaches or fruit cocktail.! House smells so good. Anything with cinnamon no one can go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Try just two cans of peach pie filling, or any pie filling flavor (blueberry is my favorite), then cover with yellow cake mix.Melt one cup of butter and pour over top. Then bake. I use no sugar or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I've made this recipe for the last 20 years with no added sugar and it's more than sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhonda Marshall Comstock
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thanks to all who added comments. I baked at 400 for 40 minutes. First I cut the 1/2 cup butter and brown sugar and spice into the pineapple cake mix I had on hand. Poured 29 oz can sliced peaches in light syrup and 15 oz sliced peaches in fruit juice - using only half the juice in this can- in the bottom of 9x13 baking dish. Added 1/2 cup chopped pineapple from fridge, and 1 cup blackberries. Slightly mixed 1/2 of cake mixture into peach mixture. Remaining dry cake mixture on top. Amazing results!! Served warm. Topped with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
4 stars for ease of making. Following the advice of others, I put only half the sugar in over fresh, slightly ripe peaches and added 1/2c of pecans. It was very good and nicely buttery but still much too sweet. You can't eat more than 3 Tbsp without feeling you've overdone it. If you like the extremely sweet cakes you can get at the grocery store, you'll love it. I prefer desserts that people can really help themselves to and not feel sick. Will try again with no additional sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This turned out awesome. I did make some changes based on other reviews. I used 7 fresh peaches cut into chunks as we never use canned peaches. I sprinkled them with 1/2 cup white sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and cinnamon with the 1/2 cup butter to the cake mix. I used a fork to cut in the butter until the mixture formed pea size "crumbs". I sprinkled this evenly over the top and baked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Tiffany’s Tip for Easy Apple Crisp

See how to make an easy and delicious baked apple dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States