Easy Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Wonderful! I'm really picky about cobbler, so when I saw all great reviews I thought I'd try it, and it was great! The crust was perfect. I did cut the bread into 9-12 cubed pieces rather than slices and also added a tad bit of vanilla and cinnamon to the sugar mixture. This is an easy recipe that would be hard to screw up. Good with or without ice cream/whipped topping. Thank you! Note: I didn't have self-rising flour so I just used all purpose flour, added a pinch of baking soda, a pinch of paking powder and a dash of salt. Seemed to work just fine. UPDATE: I've made this several times since, and still love it! Everytime I take it to parties or anything, people always ask me for the recipe. Be sure to drain the peaches really good just so it's not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the recipe,used a 9x13 glass pan, reduced sugar by half & added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla to the sugar mixture. 45 minutes is exactly the right baking time, making the crust really light yet chewy. My husband has already declared this a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was really good. It was such a surprise that white bread was the cobbler. Nobody would ever have known if they hadn't been told. And my husband almost didn't believe me that it was just plain bread. However, I did use fresh peaches and I wonder if that was why the cobbler came out runny. It had a lot of liquid in the dish. I thought maybe it would set up but it never did. I will make this again with canned peaches and see if I have the same problem. And due to other reviews I decreased the sugar to 1 1/4 cups of sugar. Next time, I will try just 1 cup. It was pretty sweet. I highly recommend this very easy and tasty cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This cobbler turned out beautiful, tasted GREAT and was so easy to put together! Added a can of apricots with the peaches (sliced fruit up a little thinner). Left about a 1/4 cup of the syrup in the fruit, I like it juicy. Cut the bread into cubes. Also cut sugar to 1/2 cup - didn't use full amount of butter - added a dash of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla. This is one of those recipes that you can put together quickly and always have the ingredients on hand. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good! 1 cup was plenty of sugar. I used frozen peaches and blueberries, because that's what we had on hand. Next time, I'd cut the bread in squares rather than just strips, to make serving/eating easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!! This cobbler is awesome!! I did make some of the same changes others did...less sugar, 2/3 cup white sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the topping. Just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Haven, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
OMG!!! this is SSSOOOO good. i read the reviews first and the common issue was to decrease the sugar, add vanilla, and add some cinnamon so i did that the first time around. it is a hit!. i am having some VIP's over for dinner tomorrow and was afraid because i never made this but i told them in advance i would make cobbler, so i frantically looked online for a reliable recipe and boy did i hit the jackpot. i will be a star tomorrow. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
WOW!!! Easy and Awesome. Thats rare and I must say I was suprised. The only thing I did different was use diced peaches. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
yum yum yum. it was soo good. i used real peaches, a cup of sugar, and some cinnamon, and it was perfect. it's amazing warm over ice cream. i'll definitely make it again. what a great way to use up peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
My family liked this very much! I will probably use less sugar next time as I found it a little bit sweet for my liking. I used frozen peaches (thawed) and maybe that is why? I will make this again many times! You'd never know that white bread is used in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States