Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this as a quick dessert for my three boys with a healthier twist. I used half the amount of sugar called for in the "dough", half whole wheat/half white flour and lowfat buttermilk. I had some frozen freestone peaches I thawed especially for this recipe and I faked the canned "juice" by adding just a touch of cornstarch dissolved about a half cup of water, one tablespoon of lemon juice and a quarter cup of honey. I just cooked it in a small saucepan until it thickened up. I took a couple other reviewer's advice and added cinnamon, nutmeg and a little vanilla. All three my boys enjoyed this and "yummed" all the way through it. I thought it looked lovely, just like something that my Grandma made for us kids when we were little. Quick dessert and it was completely inhaled. No "icks" at my table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I decided to make this because of KALDIRRIS' review yesterday. Normally, an awful review will make me bypass a recipe, but in this particular case, the review was so absolutely unecessarily RUDE that honestly I was shocked and refused to believe that a recipe with a 4 star average with >150 reviewerscould be that bad. I'm not a peach fan, but hubby is so I made this for him. His rating is "a solid four stars." My only alteration was to use frozen peaches that I nuked in the microwave to thaw and get juicy. It also took closer to 35 minutes in my oven. THANK YOU for sharing your recipe with us, and I'm so sorry that another reviewer was so unnecessarily cruel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This cobbler could not have been easier to make, taking less than 5 minutes to get into the oven. So, the "easy" part is spot on. I prefer more fruit so I opened a 29 oz can of peaches and used all of the fruit and only 1/2 of the juice. This worked out perfect for our taste. We also like cinnamon in peach desserts, so just a small amout was sprinkled on top before baking. I checked the cobbler after 25 minutes and in my oven, it required a litttle more time (approx. 10 additional minutes.) This turned out to be a great recipe. I didn't experience any "doughy" problems. The sweetness level was perfect and the slightly gooey (like pie filling) inside is delicious. I would be happy to make & serve this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
As far as I know, I have never eaten cobbler in my life. The texture was incredible, a little crispy/chewy on the surface with a sweet, gooey fruit filling underneath. The flavor was pretty good, but I did feel it needed a little extra "something". Like other reviewers, I found that one can of fruit wasn't going to be enough, so I used two cans, but drained the juice out of one of them before adding it to the pan. I mixed the batter in a bowl and then transferred it to a greased pan, then added the fruit on top. It took about 45 minutes for mine to bake to perfection. I'll definitely make this again, but next time I think I'll take the advice of a few reviewers and add vanilla to the batter and cinnamon and nutmeg to the peaches. Thanks for sharing a great, easy dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
i love this , it is so easy and taste so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Delicious. My customers loved this recipe.. not too sweet and the "crust" is just right! I added a dash of nutmeg and a tinch of cinnamon. Wondeful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
GOOD RECIPE, but cook time (25-30 min) was not enough at all! Next time I make this i'll keep it in the oven for about an hour..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I am dumb when it comes to following recipes but this one was really easy and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this last night. I used 1 1/4 cups of sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla and used 24 ounces of peaches with 1/2 of the juice. Bake it at 400 degrees for about 40 minutues. It came out perfectly golden brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States