Easy Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was so delicious. Follow the recipe exactly. The unsweetened whipped cream and fresh fruit combine with the sweet meringue for a perfect taste. One tip: separate egg whites yourself! The first time I tried it, I was lazy and used liquid egg whites from a carton and failed miserably. No shortcuts when baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very easy, came out great. Instead of kiwi I topped with the whipped cream and mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was very tasty..but I was looking for a pavlova not a cookie..This turned out for me as the merigue cookie than a pavlova-in which I never had pavlovas before-also took hints from one reviewer to leave it in oven for hours after baking-came out way too dry and disappointed-its great as a cookie but not what I was looking for on our Xmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great flavor... I recommend using around 3/4 cup of sugar or else it would be too sweet. also leave the pavlova in the oven after baking to keep it cool to limit cracking.. but great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
REDUCE THE SUGAR!!! I should have read the comments before I tried this. The recipe is delicious and the cooking instructions were PERFECT, but this was tooth-achingly sweet. Will definitely try again with only 1 cup of sugar like other people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made my first pavlova today and I was so impressed with the result. I used 1 cup sugar and did not have any problem with adding the ingredients. Baked it for 1 hour and left in the oven to cool for about 2 hours. The middle part sank a little bit but it was perfect for the topping. Very crunchy outside and soft inside. Garnished it with sliced mangoes, Cherries and thawed mixed berries. Very yummy. My grandson ate two slices right away. I will be making this again. Thanks for this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing Rosina! Fantastic recipe! I was scared to use egg whites because of previous bad experiences, so I used meringue powder instead (you can buy that at the grocery store) and came out beautifully. I followed another user's suggestion of crumbling up wax paper then coating it with cornstarch, which worked great - wonderful tip! You can apply the whipping cream a couple hours before serving, but do not apply the fruit until right before because the fruit tends to sink into the cream after a while. The next day after serving, if there are leftovers, the meringue crust becomes very soft and soggy but still holds its flavor and still tasted good to me. Additionally, I added a small layer of homemade vanilla custard (Pastry Cream recipe from this website) since I had some leftover in the frisge to the Pavlova before applying the whipping cream, which enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
A couple of things are missing from this recipe, I like recipes to include ALL instructions. 1) When folding in the Vanilla, Cornstatch and lemon juice -- it should be blended together first!! She didn't mention this... The first attempt I added them one at a time, and the cornstartch created lumps in the egg whites, and all the folding deflated the whites slightly and had to start again. 2)She doesn't mention that you must only add the toppings of fruit, cusard, or whipped cream moments before serving!! I had a feeling this would be the case, but since I had never made it before, and it was not warned against, I added the toppings about 20mins before serving and lost all the crispness of the egg white -- except for just along the edge. Not the same effect at all. I felt like that should have been mentioned. I agree with a lot of other comments that it was too sweet. I only added a cup of sugar to the egg whites, and added an additional egg white.. and it was still pretty sweet. I am guessing cream of tarter could replace half-a-cup of sugar next time. All in all, not the best recipe on here for Pavlova, but if you add my instruciton, it would come out better then mine did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fish'n'chick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Everyone loved this dessert, even though I managed to make a flop of it - not the recipe's fault but I think it might have been the vanilla bean paste I added as an extra. I ended up cutting around a plate to make my pancake pav into a nice round shape, and then I piled on the offcuts and creamed it.. it was a lovely impressive looking thing once I was done :o) 5 stars for great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Had trouble with mine breaking and falling apart. I've never had it before so had nothing to compare to. Also baked for an additional 30 minutes because it didn't seem to cook through, it was incredibly wet. By itself, it was too sweet, I literally felt like I was eating sugar- but topped with home-made whipped cream and strawberries, it was spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Raspberry Pavlova

This beautiful and impressive fresh fruit dessert is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States