Easy Pavlova Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
First made this in 5th Grade and this recipe is spot on for this dish & the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Dombrowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was probably the highlight of the dinner I had last night. I doubled the recipe and made two pavlovas, and they were fantastic. I didn't add as much sugar (only 3/4 cup per pavlova) as per prior reviews, and there were a lot of cracks in it. It wasn't nearly as solid as I think it should have been. Another reviewer mentioned the ratio of egg white and sugar is crucial when it comes to cracks, but I don't care about that since the whipped cream covered it up. I added about a half cup sugar to the cream for 2 pavlovas, just to sweeten it a bit. Notes that other reviewers mentioned that were helpful: do not put whipped cream on until just before serving, spreading cornstarch on the parchment paper first, and mixing the cornstarch/lemon/vanilla before adding to the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Love this recipe! I made this for an Australian themed book club night. It was so delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Absolutely delectable! Crispy on the outside, marshmallowy inside. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I made twice as much as i thought i'd need and there was still no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I did have a few issues when making this but not because of the recipe. I had bought liquid egg whites and they stiffened up but fell after I added the sugar, so just go with real egg whites. Also I did cut the sugar down to 1 cup. I didn't have any issues with it sticking to the parchment paper. My family loved it so I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made a great hit and looked much harder than It was to make, reduced sugar to 1cup and no sugar in the whipped cream. strawberry season makes sugar unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Didn't change a thing and it was perfect. Note: I used Castor sugar because I wasn't sure which type of white sugar to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Just ok. It was so incredibly sweet, even my 4 year old wouldn't finish her portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I might add you can substitute white vinegar as I did for lemon juice. You cannot taste it at all. I add only 2/3 cup sugar I sweeten my berries a bit and it seems plenty sweet to me. I also use peach or apricot jam and use it as a glaze to drizzle over my berries and then add the fresh cream.Just thin it out a bit in a pan with some water and then cool again fridge. Lastly the fresh whipping cream and in my house this is the only way to go. This is my husbands favorite dessert and also a great dessert for those that are looking for gluten free desserts. Thankyou for sharing recipe. I should also add after thinking about it I reduced cooking temp to 275 and cooked for 40 minutes turning oven off and then leaving for 20 minutes. This dries them out more without over cooking and they are nice and crunchy like a crust to hold up to the berries. I read was a common among some other recipes so wanted to try it since berries tend to be on juicy side. I loosen my pavlovas slighty from parchment as soon as done cooking and place back in on the drying process otherwise they tend to stick to the parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pavlova

Crisp meringue layer topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States