Easy Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I too used 2 cups of tomato sauce and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of the other way around. I also chopped up a whole onion and cooked the pasta in the actual soup (didn't see the need to dirty another pan!). I finished it off with some parmesan cheese over each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I used celery seed rather than celery despite that(hate cooked celery), and used canned already-cooked carrots & avoided using oil altogether. Otherwise made as is. I generally prefer making the recipe close to as is, but this is one time I wished I'd seen the suggestion to switch proportions around for the tomato sauce & broth. I didn't think it taste too tomato-y. I just didn't think it was all that exciting, but mostly there just seemed to be way too much pasta relative to the liquid, even given that fagioli is usually thick. But I think I'll try that switch. (Also cooked the pasta first, sat aside, and reused that pan to save on pans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thanks for this delicious, easy recipe. I discovered pasta fagioli at Olive Garden and wanted to make it ever since. We liked this version just as well -- and there's no red meat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was great!! I thought I was in for a not-so-good dinner tonight when I realized we didn't have any meat in the freezer. But, I found this easy recipe, and I thought I'd give it a try! I happened to have everything right in my cupboard, I just had to use shell pasta instead. I think adding red pepper flakes is a must, it gives it a nice spicey kick. I also added more chicken broth and less tomato. YUM! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Quite good, especially on a cool night. I too reversed the quantities of tomato sauce and chicken broth, and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was a nice and easy dinner put together with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Delicious! I reversed the broth and tomato sauce quantities and it was great. Otherwise I think it would be too "tomatoey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
It seemed like I was making a marinara sauce. I ended up omitting the beans, adding a can of minced clams with their juice, and serving the delicious sauce over cooked thin spaghetti! An entirely different recipe, but it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I'm giving this 4 stars but I did change the recipe. The amount of tomato sauce (32 oz.) compared to the amount of chicken broth (14 oz.) seemed off to me. I thought it might taste just like eating tomato sauce. Anyway, I reversed the amounts with 32 oz. of 99% fat free broth and 15 oz. of tomato sauce. I may experiment with the proportions in the future. I also added one chopped onion instead of using only one slice & reduced the basil quite a bit, due to family preference. Finally I added whole wheat pasta separately to the soup at the table so the pasta wouldn't get too mushy when the leftovers were reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This was the best I have ever had and it was very easy to put together. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Kwiatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States