Easy Pasta Fagioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very tasty & easy to make. My husband & I enjoyed this. I followed some of the other reviewers' advice & traded the amounts of tomato sauce & chicken broth. I'm glad I did as the consistency would have been too thick. I also omitted the celery out of personal preference. I'd like to try 1 reviewer's suggestion & include some diced tomatoes the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Flavor was great!! I too followed the recommended changes from other reviews: 15 oz. diced tomatoes, 15 oz. tomato sauce, 32 oz chicken broth. I omitted the celery since my family does not like cooked celery. I could not find ditalini pasta, so used small shells I had on hand. My mother-in-law stopped by and tasted it and asked for the recipe. Although other reviewers mentioned their kids eating this up, mine wouldn't try it, but they don't try many new things (they are 1, 3, and 4). Looking forward to the leftovers and trying with it with hamburger some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is a good reciepe. Simple and easy to make. I cook Organic and this is a very cost effective meal for 5. Served with bread and parmesan cheese. I will keep this one on the books for future fall nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I love this website!!! This dish was excellent...I took the advice of others...pureed beans...used a little less tomato sauce and added a little water. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and added oregano as ell as more basil.... Yummy on a cool fall day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Excellent, fast and easy! I made this last night and followed other reviewers suggestion of using more chicken broth and less tomato sauce. It turned out so well that my husband and I were talking about it all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I have recently become a vegetarian and look for great new recipes. I was babysitting for my 6 year old granddaughter last night (who doesn't like anything green)and decided to make this soup. OMG! She ate her bowl, my hubby licked his clean and I can't wait for the leftovers today. I did follow the advise of others and used 1 15 oz can tomato sauce, 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes and 1 32 oz container vegetable broth. I also threw in 1/2 of a red onion instead of 1 slice and wanted to use up a zucchini and some green beans, so threw them in as well. This takes to a lot of variations and you should really try it.Thanks for a wonderful recipe Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
recipe was great with no changes - not sure what all the hoopla was about the sauce and the broth, I followed the recipe to a tee, family loved it-thought it was better than Olive Gardens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
For the most part I did follow the recipe, but I did make a few variations...And I too switched the ratio of tomato sauce and chicken broth (Swanson's makes a 99% fat free/low sodium option-I used that). It ended up being like a 2:1 ratio (Broth:Sauce). And I minced fresh basil-rather than dried...about one stem of leaves plus a few extra larger leaves... I really like basil! And I used two large cloves of garlic, diced fine. And I added a small tomoato to the veggies when I sauted them in the skillet. Also, I added about half the broth to my skillet(rather than saute in a sauce pan) and let it simmer for a few minutes, then I poured it into a stock pan along with the rest of the broth and sauce. Then in the same skillet, I browned a lb of ground round(85-15 fat content ratio...), which I seasoned with fresh ground black pepper, and added that into the stock pot after draining it. I salted the stock pot to taste with fresh ground sea salt-again less sodium. I didn't cook the pasta all the way, but drained it and added it to the stock pot. Then I let it simmer on the lowest setting, stirring occasionally, from about 2:00 on. My husband had the first bowl at 6:00 and said it was GREAT! Then he asked if he could take a container to one of his friends at work who is a bachelor!!! =) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4mylittleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
O my goodness, this was the best soup ever! This is the closest thing to the Pasta Fagioli that I eat at my favorite Italian restaurant. My whole family could not stop eating it! I followed the recipe except for a couple of minor changes. I used 2 cans of tomato sauce and then used 2 cans of chicken broth and 2 cans of beef broth. Also I included a whole small chopped onion instead of the 1 ring. Overall this was an excellent and easy recipe. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great recipe - I don't use chicken broth though, veggy here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States