Easy Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My husband and I loved it! I thought the rice was a little spicy, but still yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My son made this dish as a course assignment in his high school Spanish class. It took about two hours to make, teaching the novice cook how to prep food. Overall, this is a 5-star recipe for flavor and texture. The delicate blend of lemon zest with the bite of red pepper, the hint of saffron, and the savory flavor of garlic, with a little parsley kick, stir fried in olive oil made the rice the best part of the dish. We discovered that the best meat in the mix was the shrimp. He used the small salad shrimp, rather than raw shrimp with the tails on, and this worked out perfectly, by adding the shrimp in at the very end so as not to overcook them. The chorizo had flavor of its own with more of a dusky taste which was slightly overwhelming to the delicate flavor of the rest of the dish. He thought that the next time the meats should be a mix of scallops and shrimp. He cooked the chorizo separately to cut back on some of the fat in the dish. It was wise to rinse the chorizo, not only to decrease the fat but particularly in light of its strong flavor. We were a little surprised that the recipe called for 2" pieces of chicken. The chicken could have been cut a little smaller for more flavor from the rub. We were initially surprised that this dish was for 8 servings, but after the explosion of flavor, it was about right. We all cleaned our bowls! It was so good we are still savoring the lingering flavor from the meal. Very filling. He did a fantastic job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I couldn't find saffron anywhere and made several other changes. The end result was still delicious, even if it wasn't completely authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a reasonably tasty seafood and rice dish, but it is not paella. Real paella is a dish with a lot of regional variations, but the technique is always the same, and that technique is what makes it paella. This isn't even close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
It's a great base to start with. I had leftover chicken breasts seasoned with trader joe's salute seasoning and leftover zucchini. I omitted the lemon zest and red pepper. I didn't use paprika since I didn't have any. I followed the recipe with the above modifications since I was in the mood for paella but didn't want too much work and steps. I did add a can of diced chillies with tomatoes and as per another reviewer added 2 packages of sazon with saffron in addition to what the recipe calls for. Excellent dish-my husband and son and especially I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Basic yet super delicious paella! For meats, I used chicken and chorizo with some extra veggies rather then fish or the others mentioned. Very colorful and pretty dish, very savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This took way more than 30 minutes to prepare and definitely more than 30 minutes to cook. Still, the flavour was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great starter dish for someone learning to make paella. This is the base for making almost any paella your hear desires. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Could eat this every day!!! husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiepangie24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just OK. Too much paprika for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States