Easy Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was really looking forward to this dish, but it was nothing like paella I remembered from trips to Spain. I followed the recipe very carefully; however, I was very disappointed with the results. Specifically: * The combination of that much crushed red pepper and the zest from two full lemons made the rice very bitter (it made me wish I had saved my very expensive saffron). The rice would have been nearly inedible on its own without the chicken mixture to tone it down. I RECOMMEND cutting back on both the red pepper and lemon zest. * The chorizo nearly overpowered the dish. If I try the dish again, I will skip the chorizo (though I actually enjoy chorizo). I RECOMMEND: - Substitute a mild smoked sausage instead of chorizo - If chorizo is desired, > Reduce the amount at least by half > If concerned by the fat, etc. of the chorizo, try substituting soy chorizo (or a 50/50 mix of soy and pork chorizo) > To prevent possibly serving undercooked chorizo, fry it separately before adding it to the chicken mixture * Consider enhancing the dish with additional types of shellfish; Since I'm a huge shellfish lover, I added pre-cooked hard-shell clams (heated until shells opened for 5 minutes in water, juice of 1/2 lemon, butter and some crushed garlic) and Jonah crab claws (boiled in bay seasoning for 6 minutes). I spooned the extra shellfish on top of the chicken/shrimp mixture with a little bit of the liquid from the steamed clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My family just can't help raving the goodness of this paella. Left out the saffron as it is quite pricey but it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. One thing I changed is that I combined the pans when the rice was nearly done and cooked it for a bit longer so the flavors combined more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I just tried this and basically it was good but I think the Chorizo spice overpowered the normally delicate taste of the Paella. Another sausage that did not have the spice on the outside or perhaps Chorizo left in the casing might be better. Likely I would not use Chorizo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I use the shrimp/prawn shells and make a bit of shrimp stock. Use a 3 part chicken stock to 1 part shrimp stock. Just puts a different back note in to the flavour. Also I cook the chorizo first then cook the chicken in that same pan. Yeah, I know, not as "fat free" as some would like, but love that flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
WOW. This was so good, that my fiance went back for 5ths, and so easy that I will happily make it for us again. I made no changes, which is rare for me, and it came out PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Hi guys! this recipe is really awesome and easy to cook, anyway if you don't have much time or the skills to cook just go to www.buypaella.com and get your paella to go! Love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I love this recipe. It was easy & delicious! A huge it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
So easy and really good! This recipes makes a TON, so be sure you have lots of folks to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
1st time with this recipe for work potluck, and unanimous approval. I added yellow bell pepper for flavor and color, used Turmeric instead of Saffron, and only had chicken for protein. Good flavor, rice had a nice but not overpowering spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States