Easy PHILLY OREO Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Cheesecake doesn't need to be intimidating! My trick is to get those three bricks of cream cheese into the Kitchenaid stand mixer, add the vanilla and sugar, and just chug away for a long time, throughout the time that I'm preparing the crust, etc. It creates a very smooth, creamy filling that is light but not airy. I find an Oreo crust to be a bit too heavy for my preferences, so instead I used about 2/3 of a package of Nilla cookies (vanilla), crushed fine, with about 4 TBSP butter. We served this for the Fourth of July, so as a decorative touch, we took six whole Oreos and removed one side. Then, using a toothpick, I drew little starbursts and asterisks, and dripped a single drop of food coloring into each. The toothpicks were helpful in smoothing the color out into the designs, and the result was a pretty, fireworks-looking little design on each cookie. I cooked as directed for 30 minutes, then gently placed the decorated cookies on the semi-firm top and cooked for the remaining 15 minutes. A delicious dessert, with cute little decorations on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This came out pretty good, I did what the other reviewers suggested and added 1/2 a cup of heavy cream and 2 tablespoons of sour cream and 2 tsp of vanilla instead of just 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandalee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by e
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was a great recipe! I made it a few weeks ago for my family, and it was gone the next day! It was so good, I had to make it again for father's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I thought that it needed a little more flavor. I added mint OREO's. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mch88
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly except I used a 9.5 inch springform pan (I didn't have a 9 inch pan), and I topped the cheesecake with chocolate ganache (recipe also from this website). People were shocked to discover it wasn't from a bakery because it was so good and looked so pretty. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was great after I made some slight changes. I used the Ready to use Cheesecake filling instead of cream cheese, 1/2 stick butter, 2t vanilla, 1/2 pint sour cream, splash lemon juice and then I melted a couple handfuls of mini choc chip and whipped it with 1/3 c heavy cream and swirled it into the top of the cheesecake batter after poring it into the spring pan using a butter knife. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Fantastic! Rather than mix the cookies in the cheesecake, i sprinkled the remainder on top after baking. I also grated some dark chocolate (60%)that is mint flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VANESSA5188

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I give this four starts because it was pretty good and easy to make but mabey in my learning to cook i missed something cause it didnt set right. The middle was not cooked completely. I got so worried about all the reviews to make sure you dont let it overbake that i must have taken it out too early. It did bake for 40 min though so i dont know what happened. I will try this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was pretty simple to make. Of course mine didn't come out as pretty as it did in the picture, but it still tasted great. Next time I will let the creamcheese settle, because my beater burned out on me while mixing. I was affraid that it was going to come out terrible because I had to whip it by hand, but it taste really good. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scilla887

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
So yummy... unfotunately I only got to eat one piece, the rest was consumed quickly by my bf. ohwell, guess that means that he enjoyed it was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States