Easy PHILLY OREO Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I haven't tried the finish result, but from tasting the filling before baking- I know that it will be delicious. The MAIN problem I have with this recipe is the clarity. For someone who has never made, much less never had, Oreo Cheesecake... the recipe does not specify enough on what to do. Obviously for the crust you have to take the cream out of the cookies, but it does not say that. "24 Oreo Cookies, divided". Divided what? In half? Into 3rds? One pile of 8, One pile of 16? Divided how??? That may need to be revised and reworded to prevent confusion for other first-time bakers out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I was so feared up with taking on my first cheesecake, but I was seriously more than pleased with this. I changed things up a little to my own liking, but I feel like it'd be good regardless. I only used two eggs, added some heavy cream, and doubled the vanilla. I also used an obscene amount of Oreos. It was perfect. I'll make this recipe again in different cookie forms. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyscuttle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by upstgeu
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was easy and very yummy! I made if for my hubby for Father's Day, and froze the rest. A month later, I swear it's even better frozen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was AMAZING!! So I am writing this review to be of help to future people who stumble on this like I did while on I was on Pintrest. After 30 minutes of arguing with my boyfriend over whether or not the white filling of the oreo should be crush up for the crust or not, I finally made the decision and did it anyway. It is not clear whether you should or shouldn't keep the cream with the crushed cookies, and in the picture it looks completely black. Well let me tell you, the crust was black and it was amazing WITH THE FILLING IN IT!! lol I love when I can prove men wrong. tehehehe (I think he secretly liked it too). P.S. I added about 2 TBL of Sour cream to my recipe after reading Ashley's review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I give the recipe 5 stars because it is a great starter, but the recipe is unfinished. First of all, you should never have only cream cheese in the batter. I added a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk and a cup of vanilla yogurt. When you add the eggs, separate them first and stir the yolk and whites separately. This is a technique used for making cakes but for cheesecake will make the end result a light and fluffy cheesecake. I prefer it this way because you can really only take a couple bites of a heavy cheesecake. Then I used double oreos for everything. Double the oreo batter for the crust and double how many crushed oreos you put in the batter. Then I broke off chunks of oreos to add to the batter as well. While baking, I took the advice of another review on here and started the temp at 350 then lowered it by 25 degrees every 20 minutes while baking (bake for a total of an hour) then turn the heat off and leave the cake in the oven with the door closed for an additional hour. I didn't use a waterbath but using this method, the cheesecake came out perfectly smooth and crack-free!! It was incredible and we didn't even wait for it to cool completely before eating it because it looked so good!! Will definitely be making this again. One last note, make sure ALL your ingredients are at room temperature. Hope this helps and enjoy your cheesecake!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I must give this recipe a 5. It was very simple to make and i got so many compliments from it. The funnest thing after making it is plating it. I made it into single serve dishes and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
All i can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
It definitely needed some condensed milk, sour cream, and a tiny bit of flour. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigitte Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Kinda tasteless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
To me it was just OK. The guests gobbled it up. Thought it could have been higher. Probably won't make it again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States