Easy PHILLY OREO Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was AMAZING!! So I am writing this review to be of help to future people who stumble on this like I did while on I was on Pintrest. After 30 minutes of arguing with my boyfriend over whether or not the white filling of the oreo should be crush up for the crust or not, I finally made the decision and did it anyway. It is not clear whether you should or shouldn't keep the cream with the crushed cookies, and in the picture it looks completely black. Well let me tell you, the crust was black and it was amazing WITH THE FILLING IN IT!! lol I love when I can prove men wrong. tehehehe (I think he secretly liked it too). P.S. I added about 2 TBL of Sour cream to my recipe after reading Ashley's review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I give the recipe 5 stars because it is a great starter, but the recipe is unfinished. First of all, you should never have only cream cheese in the batter. I added a 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk and a cup of vanilla yogurt. When you add the eggs, separate them first and stir the yolk and whites separately. This is a technique used for making cakes but for cheesecake will make the end result a light and fluffy cheesecake. I prefer it this way because you can really only take a couple bites of a heavy cheesecake. Then I used double oreos for everything. Double the oreo batter for the crust and double how many crushed oreos you put in the batter. Then I broke off chunks of oreos to add to the batter as well. While baking, I took the advice of another review on here and started the temp at 350 then lowered it by 25 degrees every 20 minutes while baking (bake for a total of an hour) then turn the heat off and leave the cake in the oven with the door closed for an additional hour. I didn't use a waterbath but using this method, the cheesecake came out perfectly smooth and crack-free!! It was incredible and we didn't even wait for it to cool completely before eating it because it looked so good!! Will definitely be making this again. One last note, make sure ALL your ingredients are at room temperature. Hope this helps and enjoy your cheesecake!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I must give this recipe a 5. It was very simple to make and i got so many compliments from it. The funnest thing after making it is plating it. I made it into single serve dishes and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
All i can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
It definitely needed some condensed milk, sour cream, and a tiny bit of flour. Otherwise, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Kinda tasteless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
To me it was just OK. The guests gobbled it up. Thought it could have been higher. Probably won't make it again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was awesome, and super easy! Great for someone who hasn't made cheesecake before (me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
My Hubby LOVES this. My daughter made this for him. Simple and so good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Ive tried this recipe two different times. The very first time i bought the oreo pie crust. And I took some users advice and added a spoonful of sourcream, I also added some lemon extract just a teaspoon possible (I dont measure). The cheese cake turned out really good. Im sure I added more sugar it was rather sweet and very rich. I also used only one package of creamcheese. Now I made this yesterday from scratch and the pie crust wasnt so good. I may have added more butter than I was suppose to and cookies because it wasnt dried out.But the cream cheese was awesome. Il have to make this maybe two more times to perfect this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States