Easy Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've been making Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice for several years, but this was even better! Perfect rice, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I almost Never rate a recipe I have altered in any way...especially a negative review. One of my peeves on this site. I did add fresh sliced mushrooms because I had 4 large that needed to be used up. This rice came out so flluffy and delish with a subtitle flavor of the mushrooms . Added to my favorites for sure!! Thanks for an awesome, simple brown rice recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this last night, and at first I'd thought had a recipe fail, because after an hour at 400 degrees, all the liquid had absorbed and I had a dish full of crunchy rice! Not wanting to give up on it just yet, another cup or so of water was added and I continued to let it bake (adding more water after about 1/2 hour) until it was fluffy. It was slightly "al dente", but that might have been because it was brown rice. I did check the rice package afterward, and those directions called for 2 1/2 c. water to 1 c. rice, so I believe that was the source of the problem. I liked this method, so I'll make it again - just with more liquid at the onset next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I was torn between this recipe and another one so I kinda combined the 2. I boiled 2 cups of water and a can of beef broth for flavor. Sprinkled the rice with some onion salt & tossed on some mushrooms. Then I poured the boiling water/broth over the rice like the recipe instructed. Cooked for 80 min. covered with foil and it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this yesterday afternoon and everyone enjoyed the fluffy texture of the rice! This beat any brown rice that I cook on the stove top by a mile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbieh11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I eat brown rice a lot and have traditionally used a rice steamer to do this. My rice steamer is not a very expensive one so the bottom of the rice tends to burn. I hate using pots simply because you constantly have to watch it. This is a perfect solution. I basically just cook rice for the week to use in different dishes but I do think I am going to try cooking it with different veggies and/or broth as others have suggested. And the quantities and time listed worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I'm a terrible rice cook but this is super easy! I left out the butter but added just a tad more water. I accidentally forgot the salt, but it wasn't a huge deal. I'm bad at making rice but this is kinda foolproof - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I needed a large quantity of brown rice for a few "make ahead and freeze" dishes, and thought I'd try this method. I followed the recipe exactly, and when I pulled the foil back an hour later discovered perfect brown rice - light and fluffy, all the water absorbed, and ready to use. I thought it was much better than stovetop, and even beat my rice cooker. And it doesn't get any simpler than this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Good cooking method, but I will add 3 3/4 cups water next time and check it in 60 min. May take 80 min. or so though. Mine needed more water and cooking time, but the final dish was fluffy and very good. Adding the boiling water/broth is key as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I have used this method several times now and the rice comes out perfect. Even the picky husband likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States