Easy Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I haven't tried the recipe this way. But I have a rice cooker and I already put butter in the rice so I wouldn't have to it this way.But if a large quantity is needed,I might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I always make brown rice in the oven. I use Alton Browns recipe however, think the only difference is the temp. he covers with foil,doesn't add butter and cooks at 375. I usually do end up cooking it longer and take the foil off at the end. It is super easy and always turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Good alternative when you have an hour (instead of 50 minutes on the stove) to make brown rice. I always add chicken, beef, or vegetable broth/stock when making brown rice. It improves the "cardboard" flavor (IMO) of brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Better than my electric rice cooker. Did a two to one ration of chicken broth to rice...perfect. Added chopped mushrooms, garlic and onion powder along with chopped parsley...perfect flavor. Timing is not an exact science. Check at 1 hour and maybe longer if needed. Freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Just a note - if you stick to the original recipe and have rice left over - you can freeze it. No waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
So fluffy! this rice is perfect! I used half brown half white rice--sneaking the brown on the kids. The best part is no pot to wash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The easiest! Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I make this all of the time. Absolutely love how easy it is! I always double it, so I can have this healthy food on hand. Mix in veggies for a quick and easy lunch or dinner. I will never make brown rice on the stove, ever again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I will always make rice like this! I could never do it right on the stove. It turned out perfect and was good with roast and gravy. My family enjoyed it. The only thing i did different was added 2 cups rice and i had enough for the four of us and for lunch for work tomorrow. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Goings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I never have the patience for stovetop rice. I found this recipe and was intrigued. Thought I would just give it one shot. Well, the rice turned out really great! It was slightly al dente but that all depends on how much water, time, and what particular brand of brown rice you use. It was still fluffy, made plenty, and my fiancee was stoked to have good, yummy rice with his meal. The only downside for me was that some areas of my pan the rice stuck on, so I had to soak the dish overnight to get it off. (I used a ceramic glazed pan & lid, kind of like the LeCreuset dishes). Will keep using this recipe until I perfect the art of cooking rice in the oven! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States