Easy Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Like most reviewers, I've been less than thrilled with results for brown rice cooking on the stove top or rice cookers. I chose to use 2 cups of organic long grain brown rice. I checked the package to see if the liquid requirements were any different than the recipe-they weren't. I chose to use olive oil and lightly sautéed a package of white button mushrooms, sliced and a very large shallot, chopped (about 1/2 cup) in the olive oil. I wasn't planning on adding the whole thing but changed my mind and added it all to the rice. I was out of fresh garlic so I added some granulated garlic to the salt and added that to the rice. I mixed 1 tablespoon of my homemade chicken boullion powder to the boiling water. This was all placed in a 2qt covered casserole and I was worried because it was about 5 inches high and anytime I've seen rice baked it was in a 2 inch high dish. Cooked for 60 minutes at 400 degrees and then turned off the oven and left it in there for another 20 minutes so the chicken next to it would finish cooking. It turned out amazing! The mushrooms covered the rice and gave added moisture and flavor so no dried rice on the top edges. Perfectly cooked, great flavor...not like any brown rice I've ever had, and SO easy. So now I have it in a decorative casserole that can go right to table...could it be any better than that? Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
The taste was great although it did come out a little bit hard. **NOTE** I used chicken broth instead of water, teaspoon of garlic power, dash of cumin, and pinch of oregano. If you try my recommendation, be careful with the amount of salt you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
best brown rice ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Tank you! I will never make brown rice on the stove aagain! I used olive oil instead of butter and used a little more water as per a few reviews. I am not sure about cooking time since I checked on it a few time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This recipe is great. I doubled the recipe and kept the cooking time the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is the only way I make brown rice now. I used to cook it stovetop, just like white rice, but it always came out gummy. I was about to give up when I tried this method and it comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Just what I was looking for ... making several freezer meals for a friend and they all called to "serve over rice". With other reviewers mentioning that their rice wasn't done at the 60 minute mark I looked at the ratio of rice/water on my package of rice. Using a 2 water to 1 rice measurement this came out perfect. I will make it next time with half the salt and no butter just to cut sodium and fat but this is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I am a terrible rice cook. This came out great! I also tried it with jasmine rice. Came out great again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Whenever I have tried to make brown rice in the past, it hasn't come out well. I thought I would try again since my son's doctor said he needed more fiber in his diet. I tried this method, adding a tiny bit of red pepper flakes, garlic powder and celery salt and it came out perfect. The texture was perfect. I like my rice plain, but everyone else had some in their chili and didn't even know it was brown rice until I told them. Thanks mom2threelittleones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Delicious! I like it better than white rice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States