Easy Olive Oil, Tomato, and Basil Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I must have Italian in my blood; there's nothing better than the taste of pasta with tomatoes, olive oil, garlic, and basil. I used 4 roma tomatoes and made some lean turkey meatballs for some protein and topped with some shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Add a glass of red wine, along with some good company, and all is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Simple, and great dish.. Best with fresh tomatoes and Basil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FitzerFrosties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I've been making this for awhile now; I use penne pasta and more tomatoes and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I use this along with a "grilled marinated shrimp" recipe (also on this site). The two recipes compliment each other well. I add additional ingredients if I have them on hand, but just as written is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
this was simply not good. My husband thought it had no flavor and only ate it cause he was hungry. I ended up putting terriyaki sauce on it and nuking it the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Kind of bland. Used garlic and olive oil couscous and extra artichoke marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This has become a new hit @ the Fire Station dinner table. I use a lot more minced garlic (6-8 cloves) and have added sliced portobello mushrooms that I saute in a little olive oil with sliced prosciutto and some diced pepperoni. Like some of the other reviewers, I reserve the sliced basil for the very end and stir it in after tossing the rest of the ingredients in to a cast iron skillet on high heat to melt the mozzarella. Sprinkled crushed red or some Sriracha add some heat if you like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I really liked this dish, but for my husband he needed something more. I think next time I am going to add some italian sausage to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Definitely easy and always delicious! Tomato and basil are a classic combination and when they pair with pasta it's bound to be good. I cut the recipe in half and used more tomatoes, a bit less olive oil, and added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes. I topped it with shredded Parmesan before serving. This is a very versatile recipe that you can suite to your own tastes - use your favorite pasta, add a splash or red wine vinegar or balsamic, throw in some capers, feta cheese, mozzarella or Parmesan. No matter what you do it's gonna be tasty. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I used five tomatoes and added cube mozzarella, sated, and topped with parmesan. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States