Easy Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I think many people misunderstand what a muffin is...the Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, for instance, are little more than cake disguised in a breakfast-friendly package. These Oatmeal muffins are more like what muffins started out to be. Simple (albeit somewhat bland) additions to a meal. I find that they are perfect in their simplicity, a wonderful base to a dollup of jam. The original recipe I had called for 1/4 to 1/2 cup of honey or molasses instead of sugar and was a nice 'non-jolting' way to begin the day. They are a good base to add fruit or nuts. I like banana with pecans; chopped apple and cinnamon; dates with extra molasses. Tailor them to your tastebuds, but don't mistake them for a cake-like muffin. These are much more substantial, and you won't be hungry in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I altered most of the ingredients for a healthier alternative, and they always turn out great! I use soy milk instead of regular milk (I use chocolate or vanilla flavoured, then I leave out the sugar in the recipe). I use applesauce instead of vegetable oil. Whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. And if I use plain soy milk, I use honey instead of the white sugar. Basically this adds soy protein and fiber, while cutting down on calories and fat. A delicious alternative to a store bought granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I've made this recipe many times now and tried lots of additions - one mashed banana w/ pecans, blueberry and grated lemon peel, grated apple and cinnamon... etc... all have been good. I've also increased the sugar to 1/3c (and sometimes use brown) and substituted buttermilk for the sweet milk - this recipe is incredibly easy and versatile and has become my new base muffin recipe! Thanks, Tony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I love this recipe. It's very flexible and forgiving. I use applesauce instead of oil, and brown sugar in place of the white. Sometimes I add some snipped fruit (apricots, prunes) or finely chopped apple. I love the texture and they're not too sweet. Great with a cup o' tea in the morning. (they freeze well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This was a great recipe! I agree with the other reviews - it is kind of simple, it would be great with fruit added. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and chopped nuts. I also replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce, to reduce the fat and calories, and used brown sugar instead of white. They still turned out great. The batter seemed a little runny, but the muffins turned out great. Much lighter than my usual bran muffin recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I liked this recipe. I have made it twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and had very nice muffins, but I agree with some other reviewers that it was a little bland. The second time I altered the recipe beyond recognition, still with good results. I wanted a morning glory style muffin using what I had on hand so here is what I did. For the oats and flour I used 1/2 c corn meal, 1/2 c wheat flour, 1/2 c wheat germ, and 1/2 c all purpose flour. Instead of just milk I used 1/2 c pumpkin , 1/2 c milk, and finally instead of sugar I used pure honey. The result was a golden, yummy healthy muffin, not too sweet but full of flavor. This recipe is wonderful as a starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEY638

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
What a great muffin recipe! Nice because it is low fat....I added apple sauce in place of the oil. If you do this, you may want to spray your muffin cups with a little cooking spray so the papers don't stick to the muffins. I also added some cinnamon and raisins. I also decreased the baking time by 5 minutes, as recommended by another user. The texture and taste are great! Thanks for offering this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I simply loved this recipe! I doubled it and made 8 huge muffins! Ths recipe is sooo easy and healthy alternative to the butter-sugar bombs out there. This one gives you muffins soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. And it keeps you full for quite some time! Loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
These were excellent! I make a lot of muffins and I am always looking for new recipes. I used the old-fashioned oats and added some craisins to the batter. These had a moist texture. LOts of "add-in" possibilities. Today I'm making them with salted peanuts. Yumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Delicious and very easy. I added a 1/2 cup of blueberries and they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States