Easy Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I added some cranberries, applesauce and cinnamon and used white whole wheat flour. I also sprinkled some streusel over the tops before baking. These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe! After reading that some people found these muffins to be too bland, I added 1/4 c of brown sugar, and a little cinnamon, ground cloves, and vanilla extract. I also added a brown sugar glaze to the top, but the muffins turned out to be delicious even without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love these muffins. Five stars for the recipe the way it is written!! I have also played with it - tried using spelt flour, added diced apple, raisins, or snippets of figs. I always use Splenda, as I can't tolerate sugar, and it turns out just fine! I also use applesauce in place of the oil. Okay, off to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I honestly don't know why I keep coming back to this website, the majority of the recipes I have tried from here rarely turn out for me. This muffin recipe is the last straw, never again will I try anything from this website....these muffins were horrible! I would give zero stars if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
great basic muffin recipe! as others mentioned, i doubled the sugar, using 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of white. instead of milk, i used "buttermilk" (1 tbsp of lemon juice mixed with 2%milk, and allowed to sit for at least 5 minutes). i added about a 1/3 cup raisins and 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. still not super sweet, but very tasty out of the oven w/o butter or jam. my 3 year old loved it! will definitely be making this again, and will probably add more raisins or try other dried fruit like apricots or craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
added extra (1/3 cup) brown sugar as suggested by review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These are pretty good, kind of bland. Very easy to make though. If I make them again I think I would add some cinnamon for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Easy but boy oh boy. My first batch was bland and chewy. I definately have to tweak things a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Not a bad base -- not too sweet, but a bit dry and bland. I added 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c walnuts, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. 425 for 17 minutes, and it might have been best to go a minute or so less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I thought this was a great, basic recipe that can be manipulated endlessly. I personally added flax and chocolate chips for Saturday morning treats- delicious! The texture was nice and tender, and they looked great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States