Easy Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
425 for 20 min made the bottoms burn. i used a mini muffin pan, so the smaller muffin amounts may have made a difference. next time i will try it at a different temp and even in a bigger muffin bin. now for the muffin itself: at this time i dont want to rate it, for i feel it would not be fair to the recipe,becuase i was expecting it to be something different than what it is. i think i might appreciate it more if i make them in a diff muffin pan and also knowing ahead the kind of muffin. well, it wont let me post the comment with out rating it, so ... 3 stars. but i will be back after trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a wonderfully simple muffin! I added 1 tsp vanilla extract and topped with cinnamon and sugar. I wanted something quick and not too sweet, and this was perfect. I halved the recipe to make 6, and mine baked in only 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great basic oatmeal muffin recipe, but I was looking for a healthier sweet snack for my toddler, so I doubled the recipe, used brown sugar instead of white & increased brown sugar to 2/3 cup. I added 2 tsp of cinnamon and 3 tsp of vanilla. I also added 1 cup each of chocolate chips and dried cranberries. The doubled recipe made 12 regular-sized muffins and 24 mini muffins. Do not overcook! It only took 15 min for regular muffins and 11 min for mini mufins to bake. The result is beautiful, golden brown, peaked muffins that are not too sweet but have a nice punch of sweetness from the chocolate chips and tartness from the cranberries. Excellent! This will become my standard oatmeal muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I'm giving this four stars because the recipe, as it reads, is very basic and produces a nice, plain breakfast muffin. That said, after mastering the basic recipe, the sky is the limit with these babies. I now make these all the time for my husband, who has decided he ONLY wants to eat these muffins for breakfast. I add dried fruit, mashed bananas, nuts, peanut butter, chia seeds... whatever I have on hand. I substitute apple sauce for oil, raw sugar for white refined... sometimes I use brown sugar... you get the gist. This is very forgiving recipe, and can be whipped up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMtnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great base recipe, with some tweaks. I followed the low fat version from one reviewer and used apple sauce instead of oil. I only had old fashioned oats, not quick cooking, and it turned out great. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon, and used a combination of honey and pure maple syrup instead of the white sugar. I added about 3/4 cup of raisins. We can't use milk bc of a milk protein allergy, so I used unsweetened coconut milk instead. In the end, they were wonderful, not too sweet, but very flavorful. I'll definitely use this again. Maybe w dried cherries and orange zest, next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Perfect for what I was looking for; a simple breakfast muffin, something not sweet. Only change I made was used whole wheat flour and added some cinimmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chohertz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I only rated this 4 stars because I'm not the biggest oatmeal fan but am trying to lose weight. It's pretty good for being healthy. I added applesauce like another reviewer said. I made them with bananas last week and this week, I'm trying apples and walnuts. I added vanilla extract this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a good bade recipe that I will use-and continue to play around with. These tasted salty to me, so I will experiment with the flavors to get them suited to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These are plain, but are a good basic recipe! I used half whole wheat, half white flour. I replaced the sugar with brown sugar (increased to 1/3 c.) and also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Next time I might add a mashed banana. Also note: the muffins took 15 minutes, not 25 to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used this recipe to make strawberry-rhubarb muffins. Just substituted the milk for 2 cups of strawberry-rhubarb compote. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States