Easy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I love these cookies and everyone that tasted it at work loved them. Now, I didn't use all the ingredients exactly. I just used: - One egg instead of two - 1 Cup of oats - 2 Teaspoons of Cinnamon instead of 1, But next time I will use one whole Tablespoon instead. - 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves (Goes perfect with cinnamon) You can add just a little little bit of salt more than asked in the recipe, but just a bit more. After following the instruction of mixing all the dry ingredients in one big bowl, I accidently poured the 3/4 cup of oil on top of the oatmeal which was the last ingredient I have added. I noticed that the oatmeal started to soak the oil in, so I started to poor the soaked raisins and water over the mix as well as the beaten egg that I had already prepared. I ended up with an oily dough that wasn't too soft, but that I could knead. I took little pieces of the dough and made them into balls and them gave them a flat cookie shape and put them on a large tray. The cookies take more than 13 minutes to cook. It takes probably like 20 min. On my electric oven I turned on the upper section so I could toast them well. I removed them hot from the tray with a spatula and placed them on another tray over a piece of kitchen towel tissues in order to remove any moisture that could moist the cookies. The cookies seemed soft, but that was because they were still hot. When the cookies cooled down, they were, crunchy, sweet with a salty after taste! Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rami Massoud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These taste good. Following the recipe almost to the letter (omitted raisins because I don't like oatmeal raisin cookies, and subbing almonds for walnuts)there is no way the finished product looks like the picture that accompanies this recipe. Usually, when it's a drop cookie recipe, the cookies spread on their own. These stay in the little haystacks you drop from the spoon, and don't get any bigger, either. Again, they're not bad. They're cakey, spiced oat cookies that definitely bring a scone more to mind than a traditional cookie. Those looking for a traditional oatmeal cookie should probably look to another recipe, but these aren't bad cookies, by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Flavor was ok, but I like sweeter cookies. Also they just didn't form right for me at all... They were difficult to work with. Maybe I just messed up somewhere, but it wasn't worth the mess. I won't be using this recipe again...tma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Dry, sponge like and tasteless VERY disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great cookies. A little too moist. Lessened the water and oil. That was better. But great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These cookies are awesome!The only thing I did differently is added 3 tablespoons of extra flour and I allowed the raisins to soak with the oatmeal mixture before adding the the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Just made these but subed dried cranberries for raisins and used 1/2 oil and 1/2 unsalted butter in place of the 3/4 C oil and used Dark Brown sugar...loved them...not too sweet and not too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
these were the driest and most tasteless cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great recipe. I used blueberries, apple sauce/butter and steel oats. Now I eat them as a breakfast bar. My 21 yeaar old son has started making them as energy bars before working out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
5 stars for sure. I used whole wheat flour but everything else exactly as recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States