Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
So easy & delicious! Every time I make these, I'm always asked for the recipe! My favorite variation is to use mint Oreo's & melt down Andes Thin Mints for the chocolate coating. Add a drop of mint oil if you love mint like I do (be careful not to use more than that otherwise it's overwhelmingly minty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made these twice now for a cookie exchange. I always get asked for the recipe. To dip into chocolate I bought a Wilton chocolate warmer and it worked like a charm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
SO SO good!! I only reserved three cookies to use for decorating the tops. I used a cookie scooper to make each ball nice and uniform. I froze for a half an hour, and then used the fork method for dipping in chocolate. Had no problems. Decorated with remaining crushed cookies and also festive holiday sprinkles! THANK YOU! These are sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari2mila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Extremely rich, but good. Also, good for portion control because one is enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The Oreos fell apart when dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I make buckeyes every year another cookie that needs dipped in chocolate. I typically use a shish kabob skew with a small ring on the end. Much easier to drain the excess chocolate off the cookie. It also leaves a decorative ring on the top of the cookie. ALSO a friend of mine suggested that I use a CROCK POT to met the chocolate - I did this year and it is SO easy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Five stars. 'nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alice =^..^=
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe & it really isn't difficult (like some people said in other reviews)it just takes a little patience & time & a few tweaks!I did use less cream cheese because I read so many reviews saying it was too moist so I used all of the cream cheese block except about 1/4 cup.I used semi-sweet chips & made my own doubleboiler by filling a large pot halfway with water & keeping it on low heat & placing a small pot inside (Be careful to NOT let water get in your chocolate-it will ruin it!) & melted the chips that way. It was pretty thick so I added about 1 tbsp of crisco to thin it out. Once you roll the balls of the oreo-cream cheese mixture, put them in the FREEZER for at least 20 minutes. Then use a toothpick to pick them up & do a quick dip in the chocolate & then tap the toothpick on the side of the pan about 30 times or until it stops drizzling. Then, to put the truffle on the wax paper carefully shake it off the toothpick (don't use you're fingers or a fork or else it will make it look ugly!) & it will evenutally fall off. You can fill the little toothpick hole by dipping the toothpick in the chocolate and dabbing it on the hole and it gives it a pretty swirly top on the truffle (see my pic)! Do as many as you can until the balls need to be chilled again. If they get too warm they will start to crumble when you are trying to dip them so keep them chilled. When you give them as a gift just tell people to keep them refridgerated. They are absolutely divine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice =^..^=

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I LOVE these normally but saw this recipe on here & decided to follow it exactly since it got so many good reviews. Semi-sweet chocolate? Really? So disgusting. I will definitely stick to milk chocolate or white chocolate next time. Semi-sweet is way too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States