Easy OREO Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cassievang
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
mhmmm! I love, LOVE these oreo truffles. I would make these all the time if I could! :) BUT here is what I did: I crushed about 32 oreo cookies for the mixture, and three more for the topping. I used a 12 ounce pack of the semi-sweet chocolate instead. It was ALMOST enough (I had rolled 54 balls from the oreo+cream cheese batter/mix, but my mother kept taking my oreo & cream cheese balls!!) for melting the chocolate, I had a medium saucepan about 1/3 full of water, and put a bowl on top to melt my chocolate in. I put about 5 of the balls into the bowl of chocolate, and used a rubber spatula to cover them with chocolate (& make sure that you hurry bc it starts to fall apart, and the chocolate hardens!) I used a fork to grab it and put it onto mini cupcake liners. I was able to dip about only 38 of the balls into the melted semi-sweet chocolate the rest had disappeared. I had topped mine off with oreo crumbs, melted white chocolate, melted white chocolate and oreo crumbs, and some I just left without toppings. This recipe is really sweet, and goodness, it's so easy to do with so little ingredients. I will definitely make more in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
These are awesome, and rich. So you can't eat too many at once. Same as others, I did add about a tablespoon of Crisco to the semi-sweet chocolate while melting. Something I did totally different was I heated the Oreo cookies and cream cheese (after putting Oreos through the food processor) and they blended together very easily. They stuck together in the balls very well. I went ahead and placed them in the fridge as I was dipping them and only took a few out at a time to dip in the chocolate. I had absolutely no problems with them crumbling or falling apart. Although, just know that it makes for a soft center in the truffles. So, if you're looking for crunch, this may not be the way to go, but you definitely still taste the Oreo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
BOMB.com. I made these for Mother's Day last year and used white chocolate and food coloring to make chocolate ones yellow and pink ones. It was a smash. ????*two thumbs up*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Too rich but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
These are so easy and seem like you must have spent forever making them. Make sure you chill/freeze well before dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Everyone's favorite of all the truffles I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I always make these as a Christmas treat and they are so popular. Our favorite variation uses candy cane cookies dipped in milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is my first tims making truffles but i really liked the mixture. I took the cookies apart and separated the cookies from the cream. After I crushed only the cookies in a bag and then mixture it with the cream cheese. After I mixed in the cream. (Was I not suppose to do that?) The mixture became very sticky and I tried rolling them into balls and then covering them with the cookie crumbs. The crumbs helped it some but then after I tried covering them with chocolate and the ball fell down. Where did I go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Holy cow! After reading reviews I thought I'd say... It takes a while to crush a whole bag of Oreos at once. Plan on 15 minutes. My friend tells me to use a food processor. Using double stuff Oreos is a lot stickier when you crush them-but it can be done and tastes great. The other Oreo flavors work great too. My favorite is mint!! Definitely chill after you roll the cookie/cream cheesy goodness together. The truffles Do NOT get gooey or melty if you leave them out of the fridge. Chocolaty outside coating can be messy. Melt on your hands and not in your mouth if you handle it too long (children). Have bibs ready. I had a hard time making the balls small enough (1 inch) to get 40 something servings. I had half that many servings. Think about doing multiple variety of cookies and make lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is a win! It's so delicious! I didn't cover it with chocolate instead, I grind the Oreos added creams cheese, make them into ball shapes and I put it in the freezer. They are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,863) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States