Easy Never Forgotten Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very easy and good. Quite a few friends and relatives who have never tried guacamole before said that they really liked this recipe. The nice thing about this recipe is you can really fudge on the amounts of any of the ingredients. If you dont have enough of something, dont worry about it. My only tip (that I learned the hard way) is to select ripe to over-ripe avocados. If you get a bright green (fresh) avocado, it is not soft enough to blend. Save those for your salads and other recipes that call for sliced avocados. You can squeeze the avocados in the grocery store, the softer, the better. They're usually a little black on the outside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
It was okay, needed a bit of kick so added the red peppers - helped! Wasn't my favorite and I'm not sure why... thanks anyway though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I never liked guacamole until I tried it recently in a local Mexican restaurant. I loved it but they wouldn't give up their recipe. This recipe comes very close. I agree with some of other reviewers, it does need lime juice so I added the juice of one lime. I used fresh garlic and onion instead of the powdered. I like things spicy so I "kicked it up a notch" with 1/2 teaspoon of Emeril's Southwest Seasoning. Delicious! Note: to make blending the cream cheese and avacado easier, I used a pastry blender. It was a snap and make it really creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
YEAH BABY... this is guacamole just like my Mom and I have always made! And we thought we were the only ones who added cream cheese! This recipe here is dead on, but needs grated onion added to it - just grate some onion right over the bowl - maybe about 1 Tablespoon, depending on taste. Don't go overboard though, because the flavors will get stronger as it sits. I could eat my weight in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a very good guacamole! My husband was craving guacamole with the Lime Chicken Soft Tacos that I was making for dinner, so I started looking. I picked this one based on the good reviews, and I was not disappointed. My only complaint is that I am stuck in the middle of Kansas and good avacados are hard to come by. They were not quite ripe and I had a heck of a time getting them smooth enough. But other than that, a very good recipe! Thanks Juli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make, however it was too creamy for our tastes. We love all types of guacamole but this didn't have as much flavor and was creamier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Excellent! This is perfect guacamole! I've been trying to make guacamole like this for years and was so pleased when I tried this recipe! It was the cream cheese that I had been leaving out this whole time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCNIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This is great, I added Cayenne pepper and Pace Chunky Hot Salsa. In addition I added fresh yellow onion, about 1/4 cup, and garnished with green onion. Great with tacos. The only thing that would have made this better would have been riper avacodos, it is not avacodo season in Tennessee right now; however, I do not think that it ever is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe. I don't eat guacamole, but everyone absolutely raved about it. One of my friends almost ate the entire batch, stating that it was the best guacamole she ever had. I added chopped tomatoes, onions and cilantro, because it looked to bland. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Very good! I did use french onion dip since I didn't have any sourcream! I love it! Also, I blended it and then added some chopped tomatos and chopped avocado! Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States