Easy Never Forgotten Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This is the best guacamole I've ever made and I probably won't use any other recipe again. I mash my avocados and use fresh garlic and onions instead of powder. I add 3 tablespoons of pico de gallo because I like tomato chunks in it and also a tablespoon of lime juice so it doesn't turn brown too quickly. Everybody asks me for this recipe. My one complaint is it only stays fresh for a day before turning nasty-looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
What a great and EASY recipe.I used a tablespoon each of: minced garlic, fresh lemon juice, fresh lime juice, and omit the onion powder instead diced red onion. Chill for a hour, YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I just made this and it is wonderful. My husband is a picky eater and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Very easy and good. Quite a few friends and relatives who have never tried guacamole before said that they really liked this recipe. The nice thing about this recipe is you can really fudge on the amounts of any of the ingredients. If you dont have enough of something, dont worry about it. My only tip (that I learned the hard way) is to select ripe to over-ripe avocados. If you get a bright green (fresh) avocado, it is not soft enough to blend. Save those for your salads and other recipes that call for sliced avocados. You can squeeze the avocados in the grocery store, the softer, the better. They're usually a little black on the outside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
It was okay, needed a bit of kick so added the red peppers - helped! Wasn't my favorite and I'm not sure why... thanks anyway though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I never liked guacamole until I tried it recently in a local Mexican restaurant. I loved it but they wouldn't give up their recipe. This recipe comes very close. I agree with some of other reviewers, it does need lime juice so I added the juice of one lime. I used fresh garlic and onion instead of the powdered. I like things spicy so I "kicked it up a notch" with 1/2 teaspoon of Emeril's Southwest Seasoning. Delicious! Note: to make blending the cream cheese and avacado easier, I used a pastry blender. It was a snap and make it really creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
YEAH BABY... this is guacamole just like my Mom and I have always made! And we thought we were the only ones who added cream cheese! This recipe here is dead on, but needs grated onion added to it - just grate some onion right over the bowl - maybe about 1 Tablespoon, depending on taste. Don't go overboard though, because the flavors will get stronger as it sits. I could eat my weight in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a very good guacamole! My husband was craving guacamole with the Lime Chicken Soft Tacos that I was making for dinner, so I started looking. I picked this one based on the good reviews, and I was not disappointed. My only complaint is that I am stuck in the middle of Kansas and good avacados are hard to come by. They were not quite ripe and I had a heck of a time getting them smooth enough. But other than that, a very good recipe! Thanks Juli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make, however it was too creamy for our tastes. We love all types of guacamole but this didn't have as much flavor and was creamier than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Excellent! This is perfect guacamole! I've been trying to make guacamole like this for years and was so pleased when I tried this recipe! It was the cream cheese that I had been leaving out this whole time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCNIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States