Easy Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was excellent! And so easy. I didn't have any onion soup so I used cream of mushroom instead. Also, I used fresh mushrooms sauteed with an onion and 2 cloves of garlic. I will be making this all the time. It tastes like it took a lot more effort than it does. *** Update: made it as written for the first time last night and I didn't like it as much. The cream of mushroom version is so much better than the onion soup version! So, as written 4 stars but with cream of mushroom, 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Mixed 1/2 can of the French Onion soup mix and 1/2 can of golden mushroom condensed soup! Tripled the mushrooms with a mix of fresh sauteed baby bellas, brown, shitake and regular white mushrooms. Wonderful recipe ~ thanks Karen for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I've found the rice that works in this is the Uncle Ben's Converted Rice. When i used the cheap brands of regular long grain rice, the rice takes more than an hour to cook. An additional half hour even. The converted rice is cooked through after 60 minutes. Definitely better to spend the extra money than to run around the kitchen like a chicken with her head cut off because the guests are hungry and the rice isn't done. This is on the table every year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is a favorite of my husband & myself. The only changes I made was chicken broth instead of beef, and to cook it in the rice cooker. I just mix it all up & turn on the rice cooker, much quicker than using the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
If you are a mushrom over I would HIGHLY recommend double/ or tripling the amount of mushrooms in this dish. I always use fresh ones and sautee them just until they start to wilt and then pour the mushrooms and the juices into the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is a recipe my family has been making for years! Everyone loves it and it's so easy. I make mine healthier by using low-sodium broth, a bit less butter, and brown rice instead of white. With brown rice you have to increase the cooking time, but it turns out just as nice. Sometimes I cook chicken in with the rice - I just throw it in with the rest of the ingredients before popping it into the oven and it's always cooked through and juicy when the rice is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
If this could have been any easier, I would have fallen asleep making it. I did add a little to fit my personal preference. I used 3/4 c. of white rice & 1/4 c. of wild rice (which the wild rice ended up to be a little undercooked, so I will cook it 1/2 way through next time I make it). I also added some shredded carrots & some fresh chopped parsley (about 1/8 c.). I will make this again, but I will probably only use the can of french onion and a 14 oz can of low sodium beef broth to cut a little on the salt. Good recipe Karen, thank you ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I have to say, the smell of the onion soup was kinda gross, but the end result was really good! Prep couldn't be easier! Also from Canada and had to really look for the French Onion soup, just found "Onion" soup by Campbells and it worked fine. Used Uncle Ben's converted rice and was done in exactly an hour as promised. This recipe will go into my regular rotation, thanks! Update: Aug/30/07 - DO NOT try and use Minute Rice as it is a disaster! I also have tried this with mushroom soup and with chicken broth instead of the french onion soup. The mushroom soup is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used a combination of 1 cup brown rice and a 1/4 cup wild rice, a 14.5 oz can low sodium beef broth, French onion soup and a can of mushrooms, drained. I left out the butter and baked it uncovered for 90 minutes, stirring about half way through. Couldn't ask for an easier recipe than this and pretty tasty too. It had a funny aftertaste though; I think I'll try it with 2 cans of low sodium beef broth and a couple teaspoons beef bouillon next time, with a dash of either Soy Sauce or Worchestershire. I think it would taste better if you used fresh mushrooms sautéed in a little olive oil as well and toppled with some thinly sliced green onions or fresh parsley. I am on a quest to find a tasty, simple to prepare, rice side dish to replace the processed boxed varieties that are full of chemicals and preservatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
One word sums this up...YUM!!!!!! This is such an easy dish to make, simply pour the ingredients and bake, how easy is that????? If there was a 10 star rating this would DEFINATELY get it!!!! DH loved this and our 1 year old ate up all of her serving! Thank you Karen for submitting this one... a definate keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States