Easy Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Was very skeptical on how this was going to come out. Didn't look so good in the oven and I thought it was going to be very liquidy. It wasn't at all. It was delicious. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Just like the Rice-so-Nice recipe on this site. I would recommend cooking in a rice cooker for fluffier rice. Also, I would add garlic. For some fun additions/changes I added cream of mushroom soup, instead of french onion and substitute the beef broth for chicken broth. I like it better with chicken instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yum! Rich. I too sauteed fresh mushrooms with garlic and shallot. I also used vegetarian bouillon (prepared in water of course) and cream of mushroom soup. Last bit of changing was with the butter. I used a bit of canola oil instead. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilMsMetaphor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed the suggestions of others and modified this recipe. I used fresh mushrooms and an onion and minced garlic. I sauteed them in the butter then added them to the rice with some chicken broth (not beef). I also used creme of mushroom soup instead of french onion soup. It was fantastic. It may become my favorite rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I expected great things out of this dish but it didn't do much for me. It was pretty bland, and I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was very easy. I followed the directions, I thought there was going to be to much liguid, but it worked. I made apricot pork chops from this site, they both used the same temp. and time to cook. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have to say that I did not follow the cooking directions on this one. I did use all of the ingredients, though, so I'm sure the taste was very close to what it should have been. I had some leftover rice in the fridge that I wanted to use up, so I had to modify the preparation in order to accomodate pre-cooked rice. I sauteed the mushrooms in the butter (though I only used about 1T). Then, I added the cooked rice,1/2 cup of beef broth, and a packet of dry onion soup mix. I simmered until the liquid was gone and the rice was hot. The results were very good. My boyfriend went back for seconds! I'll try this again as suggested in the recipe, but I think, too, that this may be my go-to recipe whenever I have leftover rice. Thanks so much, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was super easy, even for a beginning cook like me! I substituted cream of mushroom soup and chicken broth for french onion soup and beef broth, as others have suggested. I also only used about two tablespoons of butter, as well as adding a dash or two of minced onion, garlic, and parsley. I let it bake for an hour, but it still needed about five additional minutes to be completely cooked. I served it to mom, who enjoyed it (she went for seconds!), and my dad, who thought it was just ok (he's not into mushrooms). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was absolutely outstanding! I used 21 oz water (while doubling the recipe) and 1 packet of Lipton's Onion Soup Mix for the beef broth and cream of chicken soup. I used converted rice and it took exactly 60 minutes. I also stirred it 3 minutes before removing from the oven. It looked very "soup-y", but after I stirred it and baked for three more minutes, it came out perfectly. This was a huge hit with our entire family of 10. Everyone declared it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Not quite what I was looking for. Would probably prefer this recipe made with real mushrooms and sauteed onions rather than processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States