Easy Mushroom-Goat Cheese Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I did not make these as empanadas, but used pre-made phyllo cups in the freezer section. These were loved by the 3 guests I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made these to take to a party along with another empanada recipe. These were great. I deleted the cilantro as my family does not like it and upped the garlic. Other than that - no issues. No problems rolling the biscuits out and we really liked the crunchy cornmeal on these. We will definitely make again and the other recipe I tried, we'll make again but use this recipe for the biscuit/cornmeal outer part of the empanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I used pre-made pastry rather than using the dough for these, but the filling is awesome. I often make it when veggies come for fajitas. They get this filling instead of the chicken pieces. In fact, they have to fight everyone else to keep it because it's SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I lived in Buenos Aires for a while, and I'm always looking for new empanada recipes. I used latin market empanada shells (make sure you get the right kind - there's one for baking and one for frying). But the goat cheese and mushroom filling is just delicious. You can make these empanadas and then freeze them until you are ready to bake/eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These tasted great, but I burned the first batch completely. The cooking time can be reduced by about 10 minutes. Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The filling is great but I will definitely leave out the crunchies on the outside ... it was a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These were delicious! A few tips: as someone else mentioned, they are easy to burn -- put them on the lower rack of the oven, or on the top rack but check them after 10 minutes and every 2 minutes afterwards. Also, use a fork to press down around the edges to seal the dough so the filling won't leak out. I also used more garlic & cilantro to add a little more flavor. Dipping in a salsa verde is a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I make something similar to this. I would try using pastry puff instead, it doesn't burn as easily as it is a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I concur with the first review of this recipe- the empanada method is impossible. And don't EVEN think about making this unless you have a food chopper to get your mushrooms and other fillings into "small dice". But I did find a way to make this work. If you have a mini-muffin pan, purchase a box of pre-made pie crusts. Roll them out a little thinner, and use a 3" diameter glass or cookie cutter to make little circles of dough. Be sure to flour your work surface. Spray your little pans well with cooking spray, and fit the little circles of dough into the cups. Then fill with the filling, which I must say is very delicious. Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes or until you can see that the dough is browning. I served these at a party the other night and the guests were highly impressed that I made them. They looked storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was just so-so. I used the "Grands" size biscuits and had no problems rolling them out or stuffing them. The filling just wasn't that exciting. I think the chilies made the filling soggy, and the goat cheese flavor was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States