Easy Mushroom-Goat Cheese Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made these to take to a party along with another empanada recipe. These were great. I deleted the cilantro as my family does not like it and upped the garlic. Other than that - no issues. No problems rolling the biscuits out and we really liked the crunchy cornmeal on these. We will definitely make again and the other recipe I tried, we'll make again but use this recipe for the biscuit/cornmeal outer part of the empanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I used pre-made pastry rather than using the dough for these, but the filling is awesome. I often make it when veggies come for fajitas. They get this filling instead of the chicken pieces. In fact, they have to fight everyone else to keep it because it's SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
The filling is great but I will definitely leave out the crunchies on the outside ... it was a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I lived in Buenos Aires for a while, and I'm always looking for new empanada recipes. I used latin market empanada shells (make sure you get the right kind - there's one for baking and one for frying). But the goat cheese and mushroom filling is just delicious. You can make these empanadas and then freeze them until you are ready to bake/eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I make something similar to this. I would try using pastry puff instead, it doesn't burn as easily as it is a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These were delicious! A few tips: as someone else mentioned, they are easy to burn -- put them on the lower rack of the oven, or on the top rack but check them after 10 minutes and every 2 minutes afterwards. Also, use a fork to press down around the edges to seal the dough so the filling won't leak out. I also used more garlic & cilantro to add a little more flavor. Dipping in a salsa verde is a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I did not make these as empanadas, but used pre-made phyllo cups in the freezer section. These were loved by the 3 guests I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These tasted great, but I burned the first batch completely. The cooking time can be reduced by about 10 minutes. Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
The filling was wonderful. The biscuits could have been better but over all, straight out of the oven they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was just so-so. I used the "Grands" size biscuits and had no problems rolling them out or stuffing them. The filling just wasn't that exciting. I think the chilies made the filling soggy, and the goat cheese flavor was lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States