Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
FYI... You can make these a lot healthier by replacing the oil with APPLESAUCE and using all whole wheat flour. Some recipes work with these subsitutions, some don't... but my friend made the healthy version of these for me, and I couldn't stop eating them!!! (so in the end, the nutritional value was probably the same since I was a muffin hog, but you get the point) TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
693 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I cut out the the oil almost completely using only a 1/4 cup, and 3/4 unsweetened applesauce. Omitted the raisins and coconut, and replaced it with dried currants, and dried blueberries and dried cranberries. Excellent. FYI : 2 cups of grated carrots = 2 medium sized carrots:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This is the second time I made these--this time I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. They were still very moist and delicious. I also reduced the coconut by half to reduce the fat content. I grated everything by hand, so the prep time was more like 30 minutes (but still worth the work). Next time I will double the recipe and use a food processor. I ended up with 18 standard size muffins. They were a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were delicious. I just chopped the apples and the carrots together in my mini food processor and it wasn't time consuming at all. Plus, it made the muffin more appealing to my picky 3 year old, who might have been discouraged by the carrot chunks! 2 cups= +/- 3 medium carrots UPDATE- For those doing WW, this is 10 points each if you make 12 muffins and copy the recipe word for word. If you omit the walnuts (10.5 points) and use 1 cup of applesauce (2 points) instead of 1 cup of oil (57 points!!!) that will bring each muffin to 4 points, and it's still just as delicious. I love grabbing one of these for a healthy breakfast just before running out the door. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernanda Rios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Sooo good! But yes, it is time consuming, what with all the shredding, but they loved it b/c it is chock full of goodies. Because I used Sweetened coconut, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and and added 1/3c. brown sugar. I didn't use oil, I subbed w/ Libby's pumpkin puree and there you have it! Another vegetable in these moist, healthy, nearly fat free muffins! Lovely and hearty and staying in my recipe file (except I'll invest in pre-shredded bagged carrots)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Fantastic! I love the cafe bought Morning Glory muffins, and it was nice to finally be able to duplicate them at home! Using the review advice, I substituted half a cup of applesauce for the oil, which worked great. A word of warning though if opting not to use the oil; do not sure paper muffin pan liners, as they will stick to the muffins. Also cut sugar in half, and it wasn't missed. I got creative with add ins, adding in some dried cranberries and sunflower seeds. These were amazing! Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Very good, I cut out half the oil and used some crushed pineapples w/ juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLERUDEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Loved these! Subbed whole wheat flour and brown sugar for a healthier muffin, plus I added a banana; couldn't tell the difference. This recipe has so many good things for you in the ingredient list you don't feel guilty at all for having two. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
These were delicious! really moist and tasty - reminded me of starbucks' sunrise muffins. i made some changes - used wholemeal flour, used brown sugar (only 1 cup), reduced oil to 1/3 cup and added 2/3 plain yogurt, used pecans instead of walnuts, didn't have apple, so added a mashed banana instead. added a splash of milk cos batter was very thick, and also sprinkled some oats on top before baking. made 14 really big muffins, took about 23 minutes to bake. next time i think i'll add some orange zest and maybe more banana or some applesauce. otherwise, really yummy breakfast muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
These were pretty tasty but a little greasy. Will cut back on the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States