Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great! I didn't feel like going thru the trouble and mess of muffins, so I did a loaf instead. It took about 45 minutes to bake, but it was worth every minute. I did adlib a bit on ingredients also. I had apples and pears from my tree so I used a couple of apples, a large pear, carrots, and bananas. The rest of the ingredients was the same. Dynamite cake/bread! My husband & I had a slice that evening, then he had some the next morning and claimed dibs on the rest. I really liked it and only got one slice, so I made another one today. Yes, definitely worth every star and is a keeper. Thanks, Debbie! Oh, yeah! I did cut the oil down to 1/2 because there was so many moist ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It takes longer to make than claims due to all the shredding. Needs a little more sugar. I don't substitute anything anymore because I prefer full flavor. I made this back in the day subbing the oil and it's just not as good. Try Coconut oil if you'd like but applesauce doesn't do it for me. It also cooked closer to 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe 'as is' is not very good. WAY too much oil and sugar. I cut the sugar a little and it was still plenty sweet enough. There is so much oil in these muffins that they felt greasy. Next time, I will replace most of the oil with applesauce and sub egg whites instead of whole eggs. I'll probably cut the sugar in half also. They also took longer to bake than the recipe said, by about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Replaced eggs and oil with 1 cup blended apples & 1/4 cup almond milk & 2 tsp of yogurt. Used whole wheat flour, and only one cup of sugar. Used less carrots as well and more diced apple. Also usually put hazelnuts in but forgot. So good! Good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delicious! I did use half AP flour and half whole wheat flour, added some ground flax. I also used only brown sugar, reduced oil to 1/2 cup and replaced with apple sauce and about 1/4 cup plain yogurt. Lastly, I reduced walnuts by half and replaced with pepitas (small pumpkin seeds). Baked for 25 minutes at 350. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Good recipe; was a hit with my family. Not too sweet and the add-ins are easily customizable. I made this as is, but I'm looking forward to trying it with the applesauce substitute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made these just as the recipe is written and they are delicious. I wasn't feeling too good about the white flour and the cup of oil, however, so next time I made them with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and substituted apple sauce for 1/2 of the oil. Still delicious and now just a little bit healthier! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Kolifrath Knick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this recipe as printed and wasn't too impressed the first day - but after the muffins sat overnight in a sealed container it was a different story. These are super moist and the sweetness came out after they had a chance to 'rest'. The cooking time is incorrect tho - I made medium-large muffins and left them in the oven for 25-27 minutes (at 20 minutes they were still gooey). I will definitely make these again but will reduce the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were good. I added 1/2 c hemp seeds, 1/4 c of ground flax seed, 1/4 c of chia seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is the recipe I have been looking for!! After reading some of the many reviews, I made just a couple of changes.I used 1/2 the amount of brown sugar for the white, 1/2 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 white, 1/2 whole wheat flour. I also added 1/4 cup of molasses-a personal favorite. Oh, I left the skins on the apples too-why waste them?? My food processor made short work of the shredding. I doubled the batch the first time I made them and I am so glad that I did. These are already a favorite, and because of my insulin dependent diabetes, I could only eat one out of the oven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States