Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I baked these muffins for a coffee hour. My oh my were they ever good. I will be baking these often. They are worth every minute that it takes to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good. Had some old baby carrots that I wanted to use up. Just used the food processor to grate. Measured the shredded carrots, then used the dirty processor to shred the apple. Very quick, relatively easy clean up. Needed more raisins -- will probably use a full cup next time. Might try adding nutmeg or cardamom as well as substituting apple sauce for part of the oil. Made 23 muffins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Love this recipe. Grating the carrots is really time consuming but well worth it in the end. I try and sub out as much oil as I can with unsweetened apple sauce, but am never able to sub it out completely... just isn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I altered my recipe a bit: 3 cups whole wheat flour 2/3 cup sugar 4 packs stevia (1tsp) 1 tablespoon baking soda ?1 tablespoon ground cinnamon ?3 1/2 cups shredded carrots ?3/4 cup raisins 1 mashed banana 1/2 c ground walnuts 3/4 cup unsweetened flaked coconut ?2 apples - peeled, cored and shredded 5 eggs 1/2 cup oil 1 cup plain yogurt (used 2% mf) 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. Substituted 1/2 oil for applesauce as suggested and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The recipe made 18 muffins which was fine by me. I plan on sharing this recipe with all my family. So yummy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these with some of the substitutions suggested, 1/2 whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup sugar and using half oil and half applesauce. I thought the whole wheat flour changed the flavor and probably won't do that again and maybe next time try using currants and toasted walnuts. Overall they were liked, but I think the second batch will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Garfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very good. I usually cut out the coconut. Also I always get 18 muffins, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These muffins were so delicious that my picky 7 year old eater finished it off, and my husband told me that these are the BEST muffins he ever tasted. I've always bought the store-bought packaged muffin mix, and then one day after making scratch chocolate chip cookies, I saw a recipe for glory muffins on the flour bag, but I had torn off part of the packaging and couldn't read all the directions, so I came to all recipes and search for them, and low and behold, I've come across a gold-mine of muffins, better than any store bought out there! I've never written a review in the 2+ years on the site, but this was deserving of 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I didn't like grating the carrots and the apple, chopping the nuts, etc., because it was time consuming. But I did like the end result...the muffins are very moist, and yummy...not sugary sweet, but naturally sweet. I will make these again, only I will allot myself extra time for prepping the ingredients. UPDATE: this recipe yielded 18 muffins for me, not 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Good news, bad news. I added three slices of pineapple with a little juice, zucchini, and cucumber (cucumber was a mistake, I thought it was zucchini). I didn't measure in these extras so I think maybe I threw off the proportions. Also used 1/2 c applesauce, and maybe too big an apple. Soaked the cranberries (instead of raisins) and coconut in boiling water. Bottom line: with all those wet extra ingredients, I realized my dough was way too watery. Just looked WRONG. So I added flour, added flour, close to 3/4 of a cup. The texture and cooking time were fine with my adjustment. But the muffin lost a lot of flavor I would have expected it to have. I think just so much extra flour. Needed more sweetness and more punch. (more cinnamon? nutmeg?) I'll have to make them again to see if I can get to five stars but I think it wasn't really the recipe's fault; still seemed good. Would also like to try lite sour cream/yogurt to see if I can get more moisture in that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States