Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Awesome! I substituted half coconut oil and half applesauce in place of the vegetable oil. I had to cook them a bit longer but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Maybe I did something wrong, but I thought these were just ok. Based on tweaks other reviewers made, I used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups and reduced the coconut flakes to 1/3 cup since mine was sweetened. I used 3 eggs worth of eggbeater egg whites since that's what I had. The muffins are very hearty, but the texture seems a bit too moist, in spite of cooking them for 27 minutes. Perhaps the texture is because of the applesauce and egg beaters, but I'm not sure since I haven't made this type of muffin before (and therefore don't really know how it SHOULD be) and because I don't usually cook with applesauce. That being said, these tweaks reduced the calories by a lot, and I'll still probably eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Used applesauce as others suggested. Wish I'd decreased the sugar since all I had was sweetened coconut. Otherwise just mixed it up with dried fruit leftover from Christmas. Very satisfying. Made a double batch to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are perfect to have around the house when you don't have time to make another breakfast. Also, I substituted cranberries for the raisins for more of a berry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Amazing!! going to be keeping this recipe. Although i did make a few changes, i used 1 cup of brown sugar and only 1/4 cup of white sugar as well as 3/4 cup crushed pineapple and only a 1/4 cup of oil, other than that this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Full of flavor and moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Wonderful! I read a lot of the reviews, and decided to sub half of the oil for applesauce, and I used coconut oil instead of canola. Used whole wheat instead of white, and only 3/4 cup sugar. The sugar was NOT missed, it's very sweet!! I also included 1 cup crushed, drained pineapple. To make up for the extra moisture, I sprinkled a bit more flour. Took 35 min convection @ 350 in my oven. SO DELICIOUS, nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
A friend of mine put me onto this recipe and my family loves it ! I substitute a few things: cranberries for the walnuts, sub 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce for half of the oil, add 1/2 cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, cut the eggs down to 2 or 1 and use an extra tsp of baking powder with 2 tbls water for each substituted egg, core and chop up the apple leaving the skin on. It is a moist and flavourful recipe with a muffin, not cake-like texture. The carrots do take some time to shred, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great! I didn't feel like going thru the trouble and mess of muffins, so I did a loaf instead. It took about 45 minutes to bake, but it was worth every minute. I did adlib a bit on ingredients also. I had apples and pears from my tree so I used a couple of apples, a large pear, carrots, and bananas. The rest of the ingredients was the same. Dynamite cake/bread! My husband & I had a slice that evening, then he had some the next morning and claimed dibs on the rest. I really liked it and only got one slice, so I made another one today. Yes, definitely worth every star and is a keeper. Thanks, Debbie! Oh, yeah! I did cut the oil down to 1/2 because there was so many moist ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
It takes longer to make than claims due to all the shredding. Needs a little more sugar. I don't substitute anything anymore because I prefer full flavor. I made this back in the day subbing the oil and it's just not as good. Try Coconut oil if you'd like but applesauce doesn't do it for me. It also cooked closer to 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States