Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made these healthier by using 2 1/4 c whole wheat flour, 5/8 c brown sugar, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, omitted salt, 3 small carrots grated, 2 large apples grated, omitted raisins, coconut and walnuts since I didn't have any, 2 eggs, 1/2 c apple juice, 1/2 c melted butter and 1 tsp vanilla, made 18 good sized muffins that baked in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a really good base recipe! If you don't have something, it's very simple to substitute something else. To try and make these even more healthy, I substituted wheat flour for half of the all-purpose, applesauce instead of eggs, and added 2 tbsp flaxseed and pretty much cut the oil in half or more (I have NO idea why you could possibly need a whole cup! It just grosses me out.) They almost tasted like oatmeal cookie muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These were time consuming. I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are pretty good and chock full of stuff! I got 24 mini muffins and 9 regular sized ones. I did make a few changes; hate raisins so I substituted 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and 1/4 chocolate chips, 1/4 of the white sugar with brown sugar, 1/2 cup of the white flour with wheat flour, used egg whites instead of whole eggs, and 1/3 cup oil, 1//3 cup plain yogurt, and 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of a whole cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing.............I made the lower fat version with w.w. flour and apple sauce in place of the oil. Doubled the recipe. Added flax as well. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These muffins turned out great! Not only were they approved by my 2-yr old son, my husband and father-in-law also devoured them! I used only 1/2 cup sugar, sweetened coconut, and 1/2 cup applesauce to substitute half of the oil. A lot healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Overall a very nice muffin recipe. I skipped the coconut and walnuts, and added more raisins and a bit of orange zest. It has a nice fluffy texture, but I would rather not have all the oil in them. I will substitute some apple sauce for oil next time. I think that I would put in a bit of brown sugar/molasses for a richer flavour as I can taste a bit of the baking soda and I think this would eliminate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is a delicious and very easy recipe. I subbed canned pumpkin for the oil, dried figs for the raisins, and I didn't have an apple, so I left that out. Next time I think I'll add a little cardamom just because I love it not because I think the recipe needs it. I also baked this in a loaf pan rather than a muffin pan. It makes one large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Family favorite! We don't care for raisins or coconut, so I use 1 cup of shredded zucchini instead, and I've also used 1/2 cup applesauce when I didn't have a fresh apple in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good. Like others, I used applesauce for portion of oil (i used 1/2 C applesauce and 1/2 C oil - think I could even cut down the oil more next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Benton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States