Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
even if you scale back the sugar they are still plenty sweet, i also used applesauce and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Wonderful muffins! I made them exactly as written, and, therefore, I am qualified to review this recipe. If you make changes, don't put a review out here. Instead, submit a variation. It is a pet peeve of mine to read a lower rating with all kinds of changes made to the recipe, or any rating when changes are made. I thought they came out great. I love carrot cake, and this reminded me a lot of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I cut the sugar to 1 cup, left out the coconut, and substituted applesauce for the oil and we still loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made these healthier by using 2 1/4 c whole wheat flour, 5/8 c brown sugar, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, omitted salt, 3 small carrots grated, 2 large apples grated, omitted raisins, coconut and walnuts since I didn't have any, 2 eggs, 1/2 c apple juice, 1/2 c melted butter and 1 tsp vanilla, made 18 good sized muffins that baked in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a really good base recipe! If you don't have something, it's very simple to substitute something else. To try and make these even more healthy, I substituted wheat flour for half of the all-purpose, applesauce instead of eggs, and added 2 tbsp flaxseed and pretty much cut the oil in half or more (I have NO idea why you could possibly need a whole cup! It just grosses me out.) They almost tasted like oatmeal cookie muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These were time consuming. I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are pretty good and chock full of stuff! I got 24 mini muffins and 9 regular sized ones. I did make a few changes; hate raisins so I substituted 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and 1/4 chocolate chips, 1/4 of the white sugar with brown sugar, 1/2 cup of the white flour with wheat flour, used egg whites instead of whole eggs, and 1/3 cup oil, 1//3 cup plain yogurt, and 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of a whole cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing.............I made the lower fat version with w.w. flour and apple sauce in place of the oil. Doubled the recipe. Added flax as well. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These muffins turned out great! Not only were they approved by my 2-yr old son, my husband and father-in-law also devoured them! I used only 1/2 cup sugar, sweetened coconut, and 1/2 cup applesauce to substitute half of the oil. A lot healthier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Overall a very nice muffin recipe. I skipped the coconut and walnuts, and added more raisins and a bit of orange zest. It has a nice fluffy texture, but I would rather not have all the oil in them. I will substitute some apple sauce for oil next time. I think that I would put in a bit of brown sugar/molasses for a richer flavour as I can taste a bit of the baking soda and I think this would eliminate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States