Easy Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made these this morning .. GLORY ! They are very yummy. It took 25 min and made 21 muffins. I added 2 Table spoons of Flax (milled) seed for an extra boost. I will add Unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Outstanding breakfast muffin! Options - change walnuts to chopped pecans.....the walnuts can overwhelm the other tastes. Also chose sweetened coconut and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. Fantastic grab and go muffin in the morning. Thank you Debbie Clark and my Aunt Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe two ways; as written and with some slight changes. I'm rating this recipe a 4 as written and a 5 with my changes. If you make the recipe as written, you will end up with a great muffin. However, for the purpose of a morning muffin, it was a bit too sweet for me. I will outline my changes below which I feel take this great recipe to the next level. 1. I cut the sugar in half to 3/4 cup. I do 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2/4 cup white sugar. This is the perfect amount of sweetness and the tops of the muffins come out slightly crunchy and caramelized. 2. In addition to the cinnamon, I add a couple dashes of nutmeg. The hint of nutmeg plays off the cinnamon so well and really enhances the overall flavor of the muffin. 3. I use 2 medium sized apples. I use granny smith or fuji. 4. Instead of 1 cup vegetable oil I use 1/2 cup coconut oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. The coconut oil adds flavor and 1/2 cup is the perfect amount of oil. The applesauce helps to lighten the texture of the muffin a bit and keeps them moist. 5. Every time I have made these they require an extra 4 minutes of bake time for a total of 24 minutes. 6. I sprinkle rolled oats on top of the muffins. 7. If you use muffin cup liners, the muffins do tend to stick to them. For a perfect muffin you should ideally omit the muffin liner but they are enjoyable either way. 8. DO NOT omit the walnuts. The crunch of the walnuts is an important texture element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I read all the suggestions and opted to try a few. I used 100% whole wheat flour. Used raw sugar and cut it down to 1/2 cup and used 1/4 cup silan. 3 Carrots, a banana, 1/2 cup oil, half cup yogurt, sun flower seeds, sesame seeds, flax seeds, pumpkin seeds - a hand full of each. Its really such a versile recipe that the base allows for a lot of creativity. They rose nicely with no heaviness. Great with peanut butter ( though that may be a preggo thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MessappyMarkland
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Added fresh peach at the end. Switched walnuts for almonds. Seems great no matter what you do to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessappyMarkland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I've made these delicious recipe three times in the last week, and got rave reviews from family and friends. I followed the recipe exactly for two batches. For the third batch I substituted half the oil with unsweetened apple sauce and replaced 1/2 cup of flour with wheat germ. Flavour and texture was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
awesome muffins!...freezes excellent...I did lessen the sugar to about half....was plenty sweet..I didn't need cupcake wrappers ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is a fantastic, easy and delicious muffin. I actually make these as a kids breakfast option now due to fussy tastes. This way I know my child is eating something before she goes to school. She quite enjoys having the muffin slightly warmed with her banana on the side. Goodness I couldn't believe just easy this was. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I used 1 cup of all-purpose and 1 cup of whole wheat flour, used craisins for the raisins, omitted the apple and added 1 small can of crushed pineapple, drained. For those worried about the fat - just make sure it is the *right* kind of fat - I used 1/2 cup light olive oil and a little coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Double the recipe and freeze some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Delicious. I didn't have an apple so I added one mashed banana instead. I also subbed 1 cup whole wheat flour for a cup of the white and 1/2 c apple sauce for half of the oil. Finally I topped mine with oats. This made 16 large muffins and I needed to cook them for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States