Easy Mochi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Undercooked, too much water, and completely inedible, as well as a waste of a fresh batch of homemade adzuki bean paste. This recipe is un-usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Hi everyone, thank you so much for the feedback. Some reviewers are correct; I have made a mistake and the flour should be glutinous rice flour which can also be called Mochiko. Also, the green tea powder is optional as is freezing the red bean paste. Freezing the red bean paste just makes the process less messy. For the cooking time, one can lower it to 3 minutes and add 15 seconds at a time until the dough looks slightly translucent. However, be sure to keep the plastic wrap on for at least 3 minutes to keep the moisture in. I'm sorry for all the mistakes but I am looking into correcting the recipe soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
That was the most ridiculous mess I've ever attempted in my kitchen. Supper squishy, bloby mess. Did I microwave it too long, or not enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Now I see many make the same mistake I have made when I first started doing it. it wasnt till a few years later it was the type of rice flour....the rice flour people need is Glutonous rice flour or Mochiko. this gives it the sticky texture. Ive only seen it available by the name brands, but i wish everyone luck making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I followed the instructions and even putting the mochi in the microwave for only 3 minutes but it became super hard--passed the point of being able to mix it still. Maybe you need to check on it ever 30 seconds? Or is there a way to make it in a pot where you can see it turn the consistency you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Following this recipe resulted in an indestructible blog the consistency of rubber cement that was impossible to meld into any shape whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Super good. Super simple. Just beware of burning your hands with the hot mochi mix. I used bean paste out of a pouch and didn't need to freeze it; worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaarina Wirkki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very easy to make. Side note: the mochi dough is SUPER sticky, so be sure to prepare your surface and hands with startch before making the balls. Otherwise, very yummy and easy and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Similar to a recipe on RecipeZaar - I didn't have the matcha (and the other recipe doesn't call for it), so I made it without. I've made it twice, experimenting with the microwave time - ours seems to heat things faster than others. You can also switch up the fillings. I've used super thick cheesecake pudding (1 1/2 c soy milk) as well as another batch with peanut butter. The red bean paste is our favorite, but we make due with what we have. Solution for getting the mochi into balls is to put the batch on plastic wrap dusted with potato or tapioca (cornstarch works, too) starch. Get some starch on one hand, put a cut piece into that hand, spoon in the filling, and pinch up the sides with the not-so-dusted hand. Keeps for a day or two in tightly sealed container lined with parchment paper. The pudding ones should be eaten almost right away. Thank you Katrina for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States