Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by VOSSNER
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
wowzers! The high rating is well deserved. I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I shaved my chocolate. Used my Cuisinart ice cream maker and in the future I will reduce the recipe by 25% as it spilled over a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great recipe. But here are a couple of hints that I've learned from experience. Replace 1/4 cup of the sugar with corn syrup. This helps prevent the product becoming "icy." Also, it is important with any ice cream recipe to chill the mix for at least four hours or better, overnight before putting it into the ice cream freezer. The colder it is to start, the fewer ice crystals will form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I hate to knock such an easy recipe that had so much potential, but the amount of mint (I used "mint extract" not "peppermint extract") was overwhelming. The hubby said it tasted like toothpaste at first bite (not good, and we are mint chip aficionados, btw). Also, it was too much cream, or not enough of something else. I've made custard style ice creams with 1:1 cream and milk that didn't taste like cream (or eggs) and this was almost like eating mint flavored butter (no joke). It was not good. I'm sorry to say. Three stars is generous for ice cream I had to throw straight in the trash. Oh well, might try again with less cream and less mint, but then of course, it's not this recipe anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brrdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Awesome ice cream! I shaved the chocolate bar and also doubled the recipe to make a full gallon. Will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I have made this ice cream a few times now, always exactly as written, and every single time it comes out absolutely, incredibly delicious! We've even made it for company or to take to potlucks, and every single time, we get rave compliments about how good it is. As I write, I am making another batch to celebrate the 4th of July (making ice cream has become an Independence Day tradition for our family), and I am looking forward to digging into it after our big meal this afternoon. Couldn't be easier or more delicious, and I LOVE that it doesn't have raw eggs in it! I was pregnant the first time I made this, and have preschoolers helping me to eat it up, so raw eggs were a worry for me and a deciding factor in choosing this recipe the first time around. Obviously, I have not been disappointed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I've made this several times. It comes out great. Sometimes I sub whole milk or half-and-half for the 2% milk, I store the mini chocolate chips in the fridge so they are ready for ice cream. My other change is increasing the mint extract to 1.5 tsp. Thank you Darryn for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was delicious!!!! I find it is just like the light creamy ice cream I grew up with in north Jersey. Unbelievably easy re ipe to make in my kitchen aid ice cream maker. My extended family cannot believe that I am making this at home. Better than Breyers mint choc definitely. Also, I used half n half instead of heavy cream with o impact on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVE!!! Made this for first time this morning. Used Light Cream and consistency was perfect. Also, found Ghiradelli Mini Chips in my grocery store and used them...perfect small size so I did not have to shave or chop or dice the chocolate! I added the mint extract a drop at a time to ensure I did not over do the mint taste. What a treat for this hot summer day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WiseRgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Yummy. I followed other reviewers’ advice and use mint extract and slightly decreased the vanilla extract. Also, I used 1% milk and it worked out very well. While I’ll admit it wasn’t as rich and creamy as Richardson’s ice cream, it was very respectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States