Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Wonderful the way it is, but I also used it as a base recipe for thin mint cookie ice cream. I substituted 4TBPS creme de mente for the peppermint extract and one cup of crushed thin mints for the chocolate chips. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was such a good mint icecream recipe. I used mini chocolate chips which got kind of hard when frozen, I would probably chop the chocolate into small pieces next time, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We did this in our Cuisinart ice cream maker, but tweaked it just a bit. Instead of the chocolate chips, we coarsely chopped Thin Mints (girl scout cookies). Only chop about 4 times across the cookie, then once the other direction. You want fairly large chunks. Don't worry about the crumbs. Pour them right in with the chunks. You can easily reduce sugar to 3/4 cup, and may want to reduce the vanilla to 1/2 tsp. Overall, this is my favorite ice cream recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The texture and flavor was excellent, however I'm giving it 4 stars because it wasn't nearly minty enough. I had used SANDRA_FRANCKS suggestion to use min instead of peppermint extract. Next time, I'll do the same, but double the amount of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was really good ice cream! I got an ice cream maker for Christmas and finally got around to using it tonight. I modified - 4 Cups whole organic milk, 1 cup Domino Stevia/Sugar blend and cruddy melting chocolate I had laying around. I also used mint extract and a little dried crumbled mint herb I had on hand as well as the other ingredients. It turned out fabulous. My suggestions if you use to Stevia/Sugar blend is to cut back. I am going to try 1/2 - 3/4 next time. Mom didnt think it was too sweet. Boyfriend and I felt it was. The mint extract was also a little over powering. I might cut that back a little next time as well. To save some extra calories I used just milk rather than heavy cream. It turned out with a reasonable consistency. Kudos for the original ingredients- I modified to what I had in the house already and it still turned out really good. Another thing I learned, is the quality of chocolate makes a big difference. I learned for next time to not use cheap melting chocolate in ice cream. :-) Oh, one last note- My ice cream maker didnt come with rock salt. I used sidewalk salt that I had in the garage and it worked perfect! Save the $ and buy it at the hardware store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I followed the receipe exactly except I used Truvia blend for the sweetener and it was perfect! No one could tell the difference. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Delicious! I took another's reviewers advice and whipped the ice cream in my kitchen aid for a few minutes before putting it into the ice cream maker. Not sure if it made a difference, but I know I loved the texture and consistency. Next time, I'd like to try chocolate shavings instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Most amazing ice cream recipe. If I'm gonna spend my calories on ice cream though, I want it creamy- so I don't use 2% milk, I sub half-n-half. Also I have to reduce this recipe in servings to 6, or else as it freezes it overflows in my quisenart. So be careful, its a mess when that happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuggin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Recioe good, although the amount of chips (I really do like chocolate!) was 2-3x too much. Ice cream production needed help in my hands, however. The mix never really generated the smooth texture I expected from this highly rated recipe when done in my Cuisinart unit. It was icy and actually never did fully freeze (salt?) when left over night in my freeeeezer. Being a polymer chemist and not a cook, I thought the mix needed aerating before the effort to freeze it. I believe that this is the commercial way (aerate and quick freeze to prevent large crystal formation). So I made a second batch and whipped the mix to make it foam(y) with a mixer. Foams keep the water spread out on the bubble surfaces instead of allowing it to collect in puddles to freeze before being spread. It's the order of the process that is the key. Then I put it into the Cuisinart unit. It soon gave a nice creamy blend even without further "setting". After being in the freezer over night the dessert was still non-icy and smooth. Muuucccchhhh more to my liking (and my wife's!) than the non-whipped effort. But, of course, I'm just a scientist and not a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States