Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Best homemade ice cream we have ever made ! Kids loved it and everyone commented how good it was! Easy to make too! Didn't change anything on recipe. Will definitely be making it again! Might also try the recipe with chopped Oreos for cookies and creme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Made it exactly as stated & it was terrible. I've tried at least 50 ice cream recipes from about 7 ice cream cookbooks & while some were better than others they were all tasty enough that they were gone in a day or two. nobody wanted to eat it. I just moved so I didn't want to dig out my cookbooks & came here for a recipe - almost 400 reviews & 5 stars, this had to be a winner! I'm sorry I didn’t read the reviews, I now see most of the people who loved this had made crucial changes. There are only a few ice cream base recipes - it’s actually the added ingredients for flavor that make the difference. The peppermint is too strong (used McCormick’s), rather than a smooth mint taste it’s more like eating frozen toothpaste. I thought the salt would be fine because I’ve used it in ice creams before, but this tasted salty, which is fine for a recipe like salted caramel, but in a mint ice cream it’s just awful. And those mini chocolate chips (used Nestle’s), they were a bit hard & weird tasting right after making the recipe, then after freezing they became really hard, like eating gross little pebbles. So rather than mint chocolate chip ice cream this was more like salty toothpaste with pebbles ice cream. Sorry, 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
If I hadn't changed the main components of the ice cream, I'd rate it a 5! But...I used half & half instead of cream which gave it more of a frozen yogurt texture. I absolutely LOVED this recipe, but I will admit it's hard to go wrong with mint chocolate chip. As others recommended, I doubled the peppermint extract...but no food coloring for my family. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This was the first recipe we used in our new ice cream maker. I was very pleased to see how this turned out. We have it in the freezer now so it will thicken , however it was very tasty before we finally shut the door .lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Next time we'll make it with less sugar (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Wonderful the way it is, but I also used it as a base recipe for thin mint cookie ice cream. I substituted 4TBPS creme de mente for the peppermint extract and one cup of crushed thin mints for the chocolate chips. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was such a good mint icecream recipe. I used mini chocolate chips which got kind of hard when frozen, I would probably chop the chocolate into small pieces next time, but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We did this in our Cuisinart ice cream maker, but tweaked it just a bit. Instead of the chocolate chips, we coarsely chopped Thin Mints (girl scout cookies). Only chop about 4 times across the cookie, then once the other direction. You want fairly large chunks. Don't worry about the crumbs. Pour them right in with the chunks. You can easily reduce sugar to 3/4 cup, and may want to reduce the vanilla to 1/2 tsp. Overall, this is my favorite ice cream recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The texture and flavor was excellent, however I'm giving it 4 stars because it wasn't nearly minty enough. I had used SANDRA_FRANCKS suggestion to use min instead of peppermint extract. Next time, I'll do the same, but double the amount of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was really good ice cream! I got an ice cream maker for Christmas and finally got around to using it tonight. I modified - 4 Cups whole organic milk, 1 cup Domino Stevia/Sugar blend and cruddy melting chocolate I had laying around. I also used mint extract and a little dried crumbled mint herb I had on hand as well as the other ingredients. It turned out fabulous. My suggestions if you use to Stevia/Sugar blend is to cut back. I am going to try 1/2 - 3/4 next time. Mom didnt think it was too sweet. Boyfriend and I felt it was. The mint extract was also a little over powering. I might cut that back a little next time as well. To save some extra calories I used just milk rather than heavy cream. It turned out with a reasonable consistency. Kudos for the original ingredients- I modified to what I had in the house already and it still turned out really good. Another thing I learned, is the quality of chocolate makes a big difference. I learned for next time to not use cheap melting chocolate in ice cream. :-) Oh, one last note- My ice cream maker didnt come with rock salt. I used sidewalk salt that I had in the garage and it worked perfect! Save the $ and buy it at the hardware store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States