Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love this recipe...so far! It's still in the process of freezing, but it tastes great! I'm using shaved milk chocolate and I added a little extra peppermint extract. I cannot wait. I do have to say though... If you use shaved chocolate, wait until the icecream is soft serve frozen before you mix it in. If you put it through the icecream maker, the chocolate will break apart and it won't be pretty. Learned that from a precious recipe I tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved this- as modified it gets 5 stars. I used full cream milk and because I don't know what heavy cream is (Australia) I used 300ml double cream and 200ml thickened cream. 1/4 tsp salt. I also used crushed flake chocolate bars instead of choc chips. After reading the reviews I was going to use mint essence but the shop only had peppermint and it was fine. I thought the amount of peppermint essence was about right. Not too strong, just refreshing. This was my first attempt at icecream and is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very easy and fun project for my daughter and I to do together. We used chopped chocolate instead of the chips and took other's advice on using mint extract instead of peppermint. Just like the store kind but now I know what is in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Some of our family members suffer from asthma caused by a dairy allergy. I used flax milk for the milk and canned coconut milk for the heavy cream. We thought it was better than the dairy recipe which we though was a bit too rich. If you don't like coconut (not my son's favorite), don't worry, you could not taste it at all! I used "Enjoy Life" mini chocolate bits which are dairy, soy and nut free, yet still taste delicious! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is great ice cream! Sweet and minty, perfect for summer. Darryn M. Briggs is a genius! So easy and fast to make. -Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
So good, and so easy! We just stirred in the chocolate chips at the end. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Benton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Thank you Darryn!! i made this for a ice cream contest and i got 1st place!! i will soooooooo make this again! and i have never made homemade ice cream before! people said it was the best mint ice cream they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is honestly the best ice cream recipe I have ever seen. Tasted amazing and was so easy to make. My brother always asks me to make it and my family is obsessed. Great job (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Hands down the best mint chocolate chip ice cream I've ever had. I added an extra teaspoon of peppermint extract because one tsp definitely doesn't make it minty enough in my opinion. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I fully admit I made changes to the recipe. I am giving it such high marks for its versatility. And ability to be adapted as a base for all future ice cream attempts. This was our first attempt at making ice cream. We used a Cuisinart maker. Since my daughters of 5 & 7 were basically making the ice cream I didn't want to have to go from stove to freezer. We had 1/2 & 1/2 & heavy cream so used those. In addition love mint chocolate chip and heeded other reviewers and used mint. Salt taste WAS NOT A PROBLEM! Crystallization was not a problem. In addition those mentioning problems with chocolate chips being too hard/frozen must not have used the minis but the morsels. No problem with the minis! We are looking forward to our next batch. We will probably make chocolate chip cookie dough or coffee Oreo! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States