Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great recipe but I did make some changes based on my preferences. I have a six quart White Mountain so I always make a larger batch. For this recipe I used 2 qts heavy whipping cream, 2 qts Half & Half. Used one cup sugar for each quart of liquid. Used 1.5 egg yolks per qt of fluid. Heated the cream and H&H in a large pan. Placed the six yolks into a bowl and whipped 'em. When cream was about 160 I took a cup of it and slowly poured it into the whipped yolks while whipping them some more. This is called "Tempering". If you don't do this and pour the yolks into the hot mix you get an "Egg Flower Soup" effect. Pour eggs into cream and add sugar and salt (1/2 tsp per qt) while whisking. Heat until it coats spoon. Remove from heat and cool pan in sink of cool water. Pour mix into churn. Add 3 TBL MINT extract and green dye as needed. Taste mix and add more Mint if needed. Chill one hour in fridge before churn. I used Lindt or Geribaldi 72% cocoa bars. I put the in the freezer, makes them easier to chop. I think the bars are 3.5 oz each. They are about 8x3 inches. I add the chocolate about half way through the churning process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
AWESOME! this is a great recipe for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I really hate to give this fewer than five stars (it was very tasty and the recipe worked flawlessly), but ... it was kinda salty. I appreciated what the salt brought to the table (literally!), but if I make this again, I will reduce the salt ... perhaps by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was pretty good, had the perfect amount of peppermint but I would definatly put in less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Super easy and tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! I used skim milk instead of 2% and light cream instead of heavy. I changed the servings to 6 to fit my 1 1/2 quart ice cream maker. This was seriously the best mint chocolate chip ice cream I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVORYCASSIOPEIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Delicious! I used Andes Mints instead of chocolate chips. So easy, fast and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
So tasty and soooo good! I used crushed oreos in mine in place of the chocolate chips (because ben and jerry's mint chocolate cookie is my favorite!). Other than that I followed the recipe to a T and it was amazing. I wanted to make a quick peach cobbler ice cream a few days later and couldnt find a thing so i used this recipe, uped the vanilla to 1.5tsp and omitted the mint and chocolate added graham crackers and peaches and...AMAZING, then last night again omitted the chocolate and mint and used the base to make coffee ice cream (+1 packet starbucks via) w/brownie chunks and my husband said it was the best ever! Love this recipe as a mint recipe and as a base to make other things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
EASY and DELICIOUS!! Followed the recipe as written. Huge hit with the family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
For creamier ice cream, substitute 1/3 of a cup of corn syrup for 1/2 cup of sugar. You still add sugar, just 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons. This is a GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States