Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Pretty good! I'm a big baker, so I wasn't expecting a microwave cake to be so moist. I followed others' reviews and used 3/4 cups sugar and 3 Tbsp. cocoa, but I think I'll reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Nice quick treat that doesn't heat up the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy Nour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
It wasn't awesome but not terrible either. I found the cake too spongy. My husband enjoyed it but I really didn't. I'd try playing with the cooking time if I make it again since it might be the microwave not the actual recipe. The flavor was pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I did add the 1TB cocoa and 1/2 c. sugar instead of what the recipe calls for. But really moist and made enough for 3 servings for me. Great chocolate fix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I had one of those "Can't Function Without Chocolate" moments and this cake did just the trick! Reading the recipe I was scared it would be dry as some of these mircowave cakes are, but this wasnt! I added an extra T cocoa and extra 1/2 C as other recommended and the cake was moist, fluffy, chocolatey and decadent. Will definitely make it again! Hmm but after looking at the Nutrition Facts not TOO soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Hit with a chocolate craving the other day, but with little time I decided to give another microwave cake a try. I have not had the best experiences with those of the cake-in-a-cup variety so I was a little hesitant. Imagine my surprise to pull this out of the microwave after two minutes and find a decent cake! Have tried it twice so far and has come out beautifully both times. Also added cherries on the second go and finish with a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
i have tried 2 variations of this recipe in the last... less than 24 hours ;) ... i had a hard night at work last night! The chocolate flavor is there.. BUT the texture is not... mine have just come out a gummy-rubbery mess. NOT the chocolatly goodness you get from a bake in the oven cake or brownine. Good luck! ps. the first recipe was one i got in an email... minus the butter and baking soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORJOY
Home Town: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a stellar recipe! I've made it twice now, once with the amount of sugar specified in the recipe and once cutting the sugar down to my taste and adding some dark chocolate shavings. (I guess sweetness is a YMMV issue, but I am surprised by the number of people who are putting in a half-cup of sugar or more into this single-serving recipe! It's lovely as written. Oh, well, as the Scotsman said, it's a good thing we don't all like the same things--think what an oatmeal shortage there would be!.) I microwaved the first cake to the specified time, and the cake was a tad dry, but that's just my microwave. The second time I microwaved it for a minute and change, and it was lovely and gooey. Both made lovely cakes, and I can see using them for different things. The drier recipe will be good when I want to use it as a base for ice cream or straight cream (lightly sweetened heavy cream with brandy or whiskey, yum!), or I can make the moister version when I want pure chocolatey gooiness. Next I want to experiment with applesauce or prune puree in place of the butter. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
First try...made it as the recipe says. It was okay, my very young kids liked it, but it was dry and not chocolatey enough. I only cooked it 2 minutes, but it was very over done. I will try again, with a little extra sugar, extra cocoa, and only cook it 90 seconds. Better to be moist and gooey than had and tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is pretty good as is, but with a few revisions it becomes fabulous. 1. Up the sugar to 1/2 c. total (not an additional 1/2 cup - that would be sickly sweet) 2. Up the cocoa to 3 heaping tablespoons 3. Add a handful of chocolate chips 4. Lower the cooking time to 1 1/2 minutes. That gives it a gooey, molten chocolate effect that is fabulous. This recipe is dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
WOW!!! I love this!! It's really easy and greAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States