Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Quite nice, Nothing incredible but considering it was amde in the microwave it was quite good. found if it was overcooked by even 30 seconds the bottom became slightly burnt and very soggy so needed to blot it to try it. Found it quite nice and tasty but would have preferred it there was a stated size to heat it in, even jsut how many cups it should hold would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was really good! I did increase the sugar to 2/3 cup per other reviewers and microwaved for 3 minutes (just a microwave variation, I'm sure). Also spread some strawberry preserves on top after it came out of the microwave -- yum yum!! We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was definitely good for the amount of time and effort it takes. I LOVE the fact that it is made in the microwave. I just wish it was richer. I like a very rich, dark chocolate flavor. I did use the 3/4 c sugar and 3 tbl cocoa. I also added in some mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and sprinkled more on top before cooking. It was very moist -- better than cooking homemade cakes in the oven, how they seem to get dry, especially on the bottom. Have the milk handy when eating! I will definitly make this again when I find the house void of all other chocolate. UPDATE: I originally gave this 4 stars, but it was a 5 star breakfast with coffee the next morning! I left it covered on the counter overnight and the next day it was even better! Not hard as some of the other reveiws said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was so fast, easy and decadent. I added the extra sugar (used 3/4 cup total) and cocoa (3 tablespoons total). I just cooked it up in the mixing bowl. Came out like a warm chocolate torte. So good. The cake is way too big for one serving though, makes more like 3 or 4 servings. I don't know how well it keeps (I'm guessing not well) - we ate it all while it was warm. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe last night and it was not to my liking. Even with the addition of sugar and extra chocolate. The only good part of this was the texture. Will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Definitely satisfied our chocolate craving. I made it without looking at the reviews first because I was in a rush doing it during commercial breaks while watching TV. I didn't have any whole eggs so I used Egg Beaters. It came out great! It does make a lot even for 2 people. It definitely needed more chocolate flavor so next time I will use more cocoa powder (with extra sugar to counter the bitterness) or melted chocolate. It deserves 5 stars for being so easy, but I took it down 1 star for flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchcityhomes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This does what you need it to do at 1 am. I added the suggestions of using 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 more spoon of cocoa. It actually has a better than average taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
When you have a chocolate attack, this recipe does the trick. Eaten right away, this cake is moist and chocolaty, but if left to sit, it will dry out. After reading all the reviews, I made some changes: increase sugar and cocoa and add chocolate chips. I did use Splenda Blend Sugar (1/4 cup) and dutch cocoa (4 level T.). The result hit the spot and quelled my chocolate craving...for now! Thanks for the recipe Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I craved a chocy-cake but have no milk or sugar at home. Not a roblem though: I substituted milk and sugar with philadelhia fat-free cream cheese and a wee bit of water(just to loosen it up) and two stevia-packages (I love sweet, sweet,sweet!). Use only 1 tbsp of french cocoa too. Excellent with a tasty strawberry preserve spread on it... No other changes: I used everything else as the recipe on those webpage prescribed. I'm very happy to try other variations: coconut or lemon next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I had about 1/2 cup of leftover coconut pecan icing in the refrigerator that I wanted to use so when I came across this recipe, I thought the portion would be perfect. It could not have been better. I hand mixed all the ingredients in a 2 qt mixing bowl and put it in the microwave. After about 3 minutes, I took it out and let it set for another 3 minutes. Since I used the original mixing bowl, I had to use a spatula to loosen the cake around the edges and bottom but it came out fine. I iced it with my leftover icing and the taste, texture and flavor was just like a store-bought german chocolate cake. This is not a gourmet cake for company but it a great substitute when you want something sweet. The cake itself would not have been sweet enough for my tastes but with the icing it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States