Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
sooo easy and tastes good too. i adjusted it alittle due to others reviews. 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tbs. cocoa, 1/4 cup cho. chips, and cooked it 3 1/2 min. let it sit for about 10 min. put whipped cream on it and it was delicious. no need to let it sit, but i just liked it a little drier. thank you laura for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I give it 5 stars, as adjusted. Per other reviewers, I added extra sugar, about 1/3 cup more than called for. I also think it is good to play with time / container size/shape. With that said, it gave me the exact chocolate fix I wanted from the ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This probably isn't the best tasting cake I've made, but it's so quick and easy I had to give it 5 stars. If you make up a simple icing to go with it it's great for a fast dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
this was pretty good. I added 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp baking soda. I think i might have put it in the microwave for 30 secs too long and so it became dry. I did add pecans. It was yummy for microwaved cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I think this recipe works better if you use 1/2 - 3/4 C. sugar, 2 TBSP. cocoa powder & melt 2 oz. of milk chocolate (or whatever you prefer) with your butter and cream it together, then add sugar and other ingredients. I used strong coffee in place of the milk to enhance the chocolate flavor. Spilt the batter into two heavy microwave safe cereal bowls and let them go for about 2 min. 15 seconds. In order for them to be really flavorful, I let them sit and continue to carryover cook, I removed the cakes and glazed them with a simple chocolate butter glaze. I then covered them in foil and let them sit for about 8 hours. They came out tender & chewy, more like a brownie than a cake. Just don't use too much cocoa powder or you will have one dry, bitter cake. These would be great for slumber parties, simply because they are easy to make and fun to decorate- they have potential to be really cute, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I added sugar and cocoa powder as suggested and this still came out tasting flour-y. The consistency was good, though. With nutella and a glass of milk, I enjoyed it, but I couldn't handle it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Wow. Great cake. Fast, easy, and delicious. I took others' advice and used 1/2 cup sugar, 3 tbsp cocoa and 1 tsp baking powder. I also used margarine instead of butter and rice milk instead of cow milk. It's almost a different recipe. Hehe. I baked it 3 1/2 minutes in my microwave and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
For flavor and convenience, this totally gets five stars! Don't expect a texture like a baked cake, it's not the same. This is denser. My daughter and I loved this cake. I ended up not cooking it quite long enough, so there was still a bit of gooey batter on the bottom of the bowl when I inverted the cake. Being the "food safety expert" that I am, I just spread the batter on top of the cake like frosting. It tasted great, but next time I'll make sure it's cooked all the way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is great for a quick chocolate cake fix. I nuked butter + sugar for 30 sec to soften, then tossed the rest of the ingredients into the bowl, making the recommended changes: 1/2 cup of sugar, generous tsp of vanilla, 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder, and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. There's no need to combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl -- one fewer bowl to wash. It tasted exactly like it was baked in the oven, minus the crispy top/sides. It was very chocolaty, moist, and evenly done in my cheap microwave. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this was the most disgusting cake ever! i followed the other reviews and added more sugar and cocoa, and it was way too sweet! maybe if you try the normal recipe it will be ok...but dont add extra sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States