Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I did not like this cake at all! The consistancy was great (very cake like) but the huge serving and was not sweet enough for my tastes.It was made edible by having ice cream with it, but I definately won't try it again. EDIT* I know I said I would never try this again but I was desperate for easy chocolate cake so I read the other reviews and decided to alter it a little and see what I came up with. I simply added 1/2 cup of sugar and 1T of cocoa. The result was a wonderful chocolatey cake with a great consistancy. Given the improvments I would change my rating from 2 stars to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I don't know why the tough reviews. I guess it was just because of the lack of sweetness to it. However, once you add extra sugar,(abt 1/2 cup extra or so) It becomes perfect! I was watching a movie last night, and really was craving chocolate cake, so I got up and made this one for the first time, and during the commercial break none the less!! Prepared the batter during the first commercial break, and put in the bowl and microwaved it during the second! How fast is that! And let me tell you, it is really good. I added chocolate chips to the batter to make it even more chocolatey, and later made a quick nutella & milk frosting to cover the rest of the cake. One thing I would advise is not to refrigerate it, it becomes hard when you do. It really is a good cake, and would make again. Love the idea of making it without the fuss of preheating the oven, and using lots of dishes and pans. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Really very good, and so easy! I would give 5 stars, but I had to use slightly different ingredients. I used 3/4C sugar as another reviewer suggested, used canned coconut milk instead of regular milk, and dry chocolate malt mix instead of cocoa (coconut milk and malt mix were all I had). I mixed it all up, and put it in the fridge. Every day I am going to microwave about 1/3 of a cup to have dessert for one - about 5 days worth. I just finished one little cake, and it is not lacking at all for sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
For a microwave cake that is done in 3 minutes... a definite 5 star! My husband's response was "why bother baking them anymore!" I did add an extra 1/2 cup of sugar and an extra tablespoon of cocoa per other reviewers. I'm glad I did b/c it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I think this recipe works better if you use 1/2 - 3/4 C. sugar, 2 TBSP. cocoa powder & melt 2 oz. of milk chocolate (or whatever you prefer) with your butter and cream it together, then add sugar and other ingredients. I used strong coffee in place of the milk to enhance the chocolate flavor. Spilt the batter into two heavy microwave safe cereal bowls and let them go for about 2 min. 15 seconds. In order for them to be really flavorful, I let them sit and continue to carryover cook, I removed the cakes and glazed them with a simple chocolate butter glaze. I then covered them in foil and let them sit for about 8 hours. They came out tender & chewy, more like a brownie than a cake. Just don't use too much cocoa powder or you will have one dry, bitter cake. These would be great for slumber parties, simply because they are easy to make and fun to decorate- they have potential to be really cute, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this recipe just a few minutes ago. I was searching for a quick cake to reward my husband with and this really did the trick. I adjusted the sugar after reading previous reviews and instead put just a little less than 3/4 cup. I didn't have any cocoa so I ended up making a yellow cake. I followed the directions all the way through but added an additional minute to cooking because I'm in the mountains. I also made a quick "chocolate" icing by putting about 3 tablespoons of nutella into a microwave safe cup and heated for about 1 minute. I then added about a tablespoon of milk to the nutella and stirred it up to make it easier to spread. Then I just spead the mixture on the top of the cake. Delicious! Not bad for a microwave cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davos, Graubunden, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Wow, loved this recipe! Just made it and only used a third of the bowl, put it in a microwaveable mug and presto - cake in a cup! Only thing I changed was instead of cocoa I used a chocolate milk drink powder (contains mostly cocoa and sugar) and that was only because I didn't have cocoa. I think to post this as a single serving dessert is a mistake as that's a lot of chocolate cake for one craving but it's totally worth making even if you have a mini cake a day for a few days. Brill quick and easy recipe, thanks Laura! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Awesome cake!I've never made microwave cake before so I was surprised that it came out exactly like a baked cake! It tastes best straight out of the microwave. If you leave it for too long it goes hard. I added 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was not good at all. I read the reviews before I tried it and I made the recommended adjustments. I even tried to eat it with hot fudge and ice cream, but that didn't help the taste. Some things, I guess, just shouldn't be made in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
When I made this cake I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and I thought it was too sweet. I used a GE Spacemaker II microwave and it took 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States