Easy Microwave Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Hit with a chocolate craving the other day, but with little time I decided to give another microwave cake a try. I have not had the best experiences with those of the cake-in-a-cup variety so I was a little hesitant. Imagine my surprise to pull this out of the microwave after two minutes and find a decent cake! Have tried it twice so far and has come out beautifully both times. Also added cherries on the second go and finish with a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
i have tried 2 variations of this recipe in the last... less than 24 hours ;) ... i had a hard night at work last night! The chocolate flavor is there.. BUT the texture is not... mine have just come out a gummy-rubbery mess. NOT the chocolatly goodness you get from a bake in the oven cake or brownine. Good luck! ps. the first recipe was one i got in an email... minus the butter and baking soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORJOY
Home Town: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a stellar recipe! I've made it twice now, once with the amount of sugar specified in the recipe and once cutting the sugar down to my taste and adding some dark chocolate shavings. (I guess sweetness is a YMMV issue, but I am surprised by the number of people who are putting in a half-cup of sugar or more into this single-serving recipe! It's lovely as written. Oh, well, as the Scotsman said, it's a good thing we don't all like the same things--think what an oatmeal shortage there would be!.) I microwaved the first cake to the specified time, and the cake was a tad dry, but that's just my microwave. The second time I microwaved it for a minute and change, and it was lovely and gooey. Both made lovely cakes, and I can see using them for different things. The drier recipe will be good when I want to use it as a base for ice cream or straight cream (lightly sweetened heavy cream with brandy or whiskey, yum!), or I can make the moister version when I want pure chocolatey gooiness. Next I want to experiment with applesauce or prune puree in place of the butter. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
First try...made it as the recipe says. It was okay, my very young kids liked it, but it was dry and not chocolatey enough. I only cooked it 2 minutes, but it was very over done. I will try again, with a little extra sugar, extra cocoa, and only cook it 90 seconds. Better to be moist and gooey than had and tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is pretty good as is, but with a few revisions it becomes fabulous. 1. Up the sugar to 1/2 c. total (not an additional 1/2 cup - that would be sickly sweet) 2. Up the cocoa to 3 heaping tablespoons 3. Add a handful of chocolate chips 4. Lower the cooking time to 1 1/2 minutes. That gives it a gooey, molten chocolate effect that is fabulous. This recipe is dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
WOW!!! I love this!! It's really easy and greAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Love this recipe. Was making this at night for me and my friend, and it turned out great! Forget to put the grease, and the cake was stuck... Used a knife to scratch the cake out. Despite the look, it taste great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
We used to make a similar cake in our college dorm, but we used a coffee cup. 4 Tablespoons cake flour 4 Tablespoons sugar 2 Tablespoons cocoa 1 Egg 3 Tablespoons milk 3 Tablespoons oil Instructions: Mix flour, sugar and cocoa stir in egg, milk and oil, mix well microwave 3 minutes on high wai till it stops rising and sets in the mug tip onto plate, add whip cream, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlblueyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This cake is SOOOOO good! My daughter and I are wolfing it down right now! I'm going to have to make it again tonight, so my husband can try it! :) I did alter it a little. I added 1/2 c. of white sugar instead of 1/4, and 3 T. of cocoa instead of 2. I also added a handful of chocolate chips to the batter, and a large spoonful of sour cream. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
i enjoyed this recipe and followed others recommendations to add more sugar and cocoa. but i loved how quick it took and the taste. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudNavyWife1103

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States